We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need more help”

Kilwin's Chocolates
Ranked #4 of 42 Dessert in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Swannanoa, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Need more help”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This place is so busy but they lack the help to accommodate all the customers. When you do get waited on they aren't friendly at all.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    144
    40
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good homemade waffle cones”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Came to this place after we eat our dinner about 9 pm .The place was crowed and smell good make you feel hungry. We both tried ice cream for me key lime pie and my husband blueberry choco chip we asked for homemade waffle I really like the smell of the waffle the key lime pie not really good I even taste the lime , my husband flavor was yummy is little bit pricey but it worthy .

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley City, North Dakota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“YUM....”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

they had samples of nut brittle and fudge. i bought 2 truffles to sample...I will be ordering online from them! the nut brittle was good, and I went back the 2nd day of my trip to have ice cream for supper. excellent, and also fun to watch them make the treats.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good ice cream, medicocre chocolate”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The ice cream is very good, not the best but good enough to satisfy the crowds.
Yes, it is a little pricey. The wonderful smell on St Armands of fresh waffle cones is enough to stimulate the taste buds alone.

Being a chocoholic, I know good chocolate as I've eaten most every brand and many from home made candy shops. Kilwin's chocolate is just average. It isn't chalky so it passes that test, but the flavor just isn't quite right, especially on their dark. Their milk chocolate is just average as well.
They do however, make delicious carmel corn with nuts and their peanut brittle is great as well as their fudge which is delicious in all the varieties they make.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chuck p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Went to get some icecream on a beautiful day. The smell of this place is just amazing. Homemade waffle cones and fudge. So I got a homemade waffle cone with some mint chocolate chip icecream. And it was delicious. The cone was amazing, you just get the homemade waffle cone!! Friendly service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay032387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilwin's Chocolates also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Kilwin's Chocolates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing