We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New & modern. Caters to eco Cars, too.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota-Bradenton Airport
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“New & modern. Caters to eco Cars, too.”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I spent 1 night at the Hampton last week. I usually stay at the Hampton by the Ellenton outlets but decided to give this one a try. As a business traveler, I try to stay near the airport or close to the account I’m visiting.

Very nice hotel. Seems a little harsh to the eye from the exterior based on the architectural design. But, don't let that stop you. The parking lot features several charging stations for electric cars, designated parking for eco-friendly cars, and HOV parking for cars with 2+ passengers – all very cool and not very common. I was excited to park in the HOV parking since I generally travel alone.

The interior is very modern and sleek – great colors! The lounge area is used for breakfast and the evening manager’s reception. You could use the manager’s reception as a light dinner – chicken tenders, chips & salsa, other finger foods, beer, wine, soda. This is a really nice plus. Some Hamptons do this but not all.
The breakfast was great – hot choices along with cereal, toast, fruit, yogurt, muffins, choice of juice, milk, coffee. Some say it’s “nothing to write home about” but I’ve always enjoyed their breakfast. Who really has a gourmet breakfast everyday anyways??

My room faced University Pkwy and I was on the 3rd floor. I heard absolutely no road noise, or airport noise for that matter. I had a standard, yet spacious, King room with all the usual amenities. My only complaint (as it is with every Hampton) is the toiletries but I’ve learned to travel with my own. The room was fairly clean; I could nit-pick the bathroom but…

Staff was very hospitable and lots of smiling faces. We got a recommendation for Barnacle Bill’s Seafood – which I would recommend for dinner.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginabuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    204
    70
    17
    21
See reviews for
253
197
47
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northeast
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is an unusual facility: owned by Europeans, developed in a very different style than most US facilities, it's exceptional. Excellent bed, the coverlet was incredibly comfortable, the bath layout was spacious, this is truly a jewel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimBobTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSiese, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota-Bradenton Airport, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Our owners did such a fantastic job building our location. From color selection, to style, it's just a fresh clean look. You are correct, we are not typical. I have been told we look like an office building on the outside. Sustainability is priority for our location (other than great Hamptonality Service, of course)!

The reason we look different is because we are. Our location is Silver LEED Certified. That's mean from the time of design and construction, we are a sustainable location. This isn't just recyling or saving water, utilizing re-use water for landscaping, this is the solar panels that heat our water, the solar panels that run a portion of our electricity, the color of the building - reflecting the sunlight, the windows that take advantage of natural light, the direction the building faces, the motion detected thermostats in every room to save energy, the materials the buildiing was made of, where the materials were purchased for opening to save on the environment by purchasing more items locally, our dinnerware is made out of 100% biodegrable, recylced material, our sales kits are printed on 100% recycled paer all the way up to our bike racks out front and showers in the breakroom to encourage employees to ride their bikes or walk to work.

It's a fantastic experience and great to be part of such an outstanding project, knowing that you are making a contribution.

We appreciate you chosing our location and greatly appreciate you sharing your experience. Thank you so much and we look forward to serving you again!

Michelle Siese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Stayed at this pet friendly property during the Sarasota Half Marathon Weekend. Service was very friendly from the front desk to the housekeepers to the breakfast attendants. We stayed at a double queen with sofa bed suite. It was HUGE! We loved the space!

One of the best parts was seeing parking spaces for fuel economy vehicles. The hotel even had electric charging stations!!! That was our first time seeing those signs and we were so pleased!

We would definitely stay at this property again. It was located about 3 miles to downtown Sarasota and 6 miles to St. Armands with all the shops and restaurants. Free breakfast in the morning did not disappoint!

Room Tip: The front desk person told us that the double queen with sofa bed is about twice the size as your re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BestTravelUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSiese, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota-Bradenton Airport, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you so much for taking your personal time to review our property. It is so nice to hear that there are people that appreciate our green efforts. Sustainability is so important and there are so many people that like to hear about it, but do not participate. It has been so great as a team working together to reach our green goals. Finergy Development, LLC is our ownership group and that is what they specialize in, is building LEED Certified buildings. We are the first LEED Certified Hampton Inn in the world and it has been such an honor to take part in the project. Each and every one of us can impact the earth in a positive way, just by doning simple things every day, one step at a time :) Working at this location has made all of us be more cognizant of green efforts and work and at home!

Thank you again for your response and your participation in sustainability!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This hotel is great from the time we walked into the lobby to check in. Jeremy at the front desk was exceptionally professional and courteous. Check in was a breeze and informative. Breakfast might need a little help but they have great appetizer in the afternoon with free beer,wine,soda,popcorn,pretzel,and tons of other stuff. Our room was clean and great. Lobby was clean and the people that work there help each other out by cleaning the lobby and emptying trash out which is rare to see. We love this hotel and will definitely be back if we are ever in Sarasota.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 982Traveler0005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This hotel exceeded our Hampton Inn expectations. We are Sarasota locals, but had to vacate home due to ongoing & very stressful home repairs. Initially had reservations at a nearby Sarasota airport hotel, but odor in rooms was unacceptable. Tried a second hotel and found same problem. At this point we figured we'd try one more hotel before heading back to the mess we were trying to escape from. Hampton Inn wasnt too impressive from outside (though its actually the closest hotel to the airport out of the 6 or 7 in the area), and we were a bit frazzled w/ all the hotel hunting and prospect of having to go back home, but the guy behind the front desk was so friendly and accommodating that our attitudes immediately adjusted. Without us having to even ask for it, he graciously offered an upgrade to a king suite and gave it to us at a lower rate than the internet rate on a standard room. When we entered the room and realized it faced the street, (traffic was barely audible but we really wanted a peaceful night sleep), we went back down to ask for something facing the interior of property and he switched us without hesitation (and with a smile).
Room was very spacious, and for the most part very clean. The small kitchenette area in entry with granite counter top and small bar sink, microwave, small refrig (that actually did the job and ran quietly) came in very handy. 2 double sized windows helped give airy,bright feel to room. Bed was extremely comfortable (they really do give you a freshly laundered duvet cover every day) and the desk area with sofa was more than ample. Vanity and sink area were outside of bathroom w/ lots of storage area, and tub/shower was very clean and mold-free.
My only complaints: The floor area behind the bathroom door had some dirt/debris and there was a faint urine odor at toilet. Also, air conditioning comes on when you enter room and fan stays on continuously until you leave the room, which isnt much of a problem once you get used to it. The room could be set at a comfortable temperature, however at some point during each night the room would grow uncomfortably hot, but by morning it was okay again. Maybe they are programmed to only cool to a specific tempt in middle of night--no matter where you set it .
We could not use the desk's armchair as it was too low for the desk so we called downstairs to see if we could have a straight back chair instead. In less than 5 min someone appeared at our door, acknowledged the problem and swapped out the chair--smiling all the way and insisting we call if we needed anything else.
The lounge area off the reception desk is very inviting, with comfortable seating of various types and several flatscreen TVs going. In the early evening they offer hot bites of food and wine--on the house--and they bring out fresh baked cookies. Looked like alot of guests were making this into a lite dinner. Breakfast bar was better than most and the breakfast ladies were so friendly. Make your own waffles, egg dish, meat dish, potatoes, fresh fruit, breads and cereals, juices, etc. Breakfast is included in room rate and after it shuts down they move all the coffees and teas to a table near the reception area. We are 'coffee snobs', we use beans sourced from very unique areas and grind them fresh every morning, but I have to say that this hotel's coffee is excellent! They offer it freshly brewed, 24 hrs/day.
Also easy to get to grocery store or wide variety of restaurants, either straight up University or travel south on US 41. Takes about 15 min to get to downtown Sarasota and a good 20 or 30 to nearest beach (Lido Beach off of St. Armands Circle). Hotel offers van service to airport and nearby stuff.
Pool was very clean and fitness room ample enough to get the job done. Handy area near pool with seating and several propane grills for guest use. Turned into a nice star-gazing spot for us to sit with a glass of wine. Each time we walked by the front desk someone looked up and smiled, and often asked how are stay was going. (They dont even do that at the Ritz Carlton anymore!).
To make a long story long...being such a great hotel experience, we extended our stay several nights. Hampton Inn Sarasota airport hotel is the one we recommend to family and friends who are visiting the area and don't need to stay directly on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSiese, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota-Bradenton Airport, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your extended review of the property! I am very honored to work with the crew that I have at this location. There are several members of our team that have been with us since we opened. I am so thankful to have so many team members that really understand what hospitality is all about! We always have areas of opportunity, but without those, we wouldn't have goals to work to, in order to be the best we can be!

Thank you again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience - each morning we huddle together as a team and discuss our areas of opportunity and celebrate together when things have gone well!

Warm Regards,

Michelle Siese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

A nice looking hotel with stylish decor and some 'extras' from the usual Hampton Inn package.

Criticisms:
the lack of bed linen on one bed and then the delivery of bed linen without any willingness to make the bed up by the staff member concerned.
The elevators promised clean linen every night. We thought that unnecessary but in any case the beds weren't changed on our 3 nights there. Don't promise things you don't give.
There was only tinned fruit at breakfast: every other Hampton we've stayed in offers fresh fruit salad.

Positives:
Quiet despite the airport next door
Good value and very close to the Ringling Estate
Very stylish look
Complimentary bus service within a 5 mile radius

Good value in summary: not perfect, but worth considering away from central Sarasota

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the ice machine. The man playing the guitar next door in the middle of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSiese, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota-Bradenton Airport, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with our team! I wanted to clarify the changing of linens in your room each day. There is a card that you place on your pillow that would have been on your lap desk on the bed. When you do want your linens changed, you simply place that card on your pillow and then we will change the linens for you. This is part of the Take Care Program for the Hampton brand. We are the first Silver LEED Certified Hampton Inn and continually practice being a green hotel. The Take Care program continues to be a way to support that concept. The promise in on the sign in the elevator is you will recieve clean linen every day. We would just need to know you prefer that over the Take Care Program offered by the brand.

With regards to breakfast fruit, we do offer the apples, bananans and oranages as well is the mixed fruit in the bowl next to the stand of fruit. I apologize if you did not see that, however, it is out everyday. The Hampton brand standards require us to serve certain items, so guests can come to expect the same selection at each location.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your exeperience with our team. We are currently ranked in the top 15% of all the Hampton's worldwide and continually look at ways to improve guest experience!

PS, for your next visit, let us know when you are arriving and we'll be sure to change the location of your room as to not be next to an ice machine!

Warm Regards,

Michelle Siese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This Hampton Inn is right next to the airport so very convenient if you are flying in or departing.
You would never know you are right next to the airport. Rooms are very quiet. It is really close to the Ringling estate. Hotel has social hour with appetizers and drinks. There is a patio and pool area to relax and enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSiese, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota-Bradenton Airport, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your response! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us! We added our social hour in early 2011 because we wanted to create an atmosphere where travelers of all groups could socialize in a comfortable environment indoors or out. It sounds as though you enjoyed this. Nothin could make us happier than happy guests!

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you, we look forward to your return :)

Michelle Siese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Sarasota / Bradenton Airport
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport
9.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#2 of 48 in Sarasota
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sarasota - Bradenton Airport
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota-Bradenton Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota-Bradenton Airport

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota-Bradenton Airport
Address: 975 University Pkwy, Sarasota, FL 34234-2879
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota-Bradenton Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota-Bradenton Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota-Bradenton Airport Hotel Sarasota
Hampton Inn And Suites Sarasota-Bradenton Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing