We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sarasota Happening”

Mattison's Forty-One
Ranked #139 of 1,046 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Chef Paul Mattison invites you to join us and experience Mattison's Forty-One's elegant, friendly, fun, and comfortable atmosphere. Winner of Florida Trend Magazine's prestigious Golden Spoon Award the menu includes fresh seafood; Mattison's signature meat dishes like lamb, aged beef, and duck; we have a complete tapas menu, including sushi, calamari, Chef Paul Mattison's signature Artichokes Esther, fresh salads, and more. Mattison's Forty-One serves lunch, dinner and Sunday Brunch. There is live music and dancing every night along with nightly specials and events including Early Happy Hour, Wine-Pairing Dinners, Cooking Demonstrations and more. The Galleria is a beautiful complete catering facility seating up to 100 people.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Sarasota Happening”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Dining al fresco at Mattison's in downtown Sarasota is always a fun experience. Menu offers a variety of options. Service is great with a friendly and knowledgeable staff. Food is fresh, well prepared and tasty. Mattison's is located right in the heart of downtown ...easy walking distance to everywhere!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FJebram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    75
    29
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wooster, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Atmosphere”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We had very delicious meal. The "Pot Roast" was wonderful. The piano player was out of this world good. If you like dinner music/singing with your meal, you'll love this place! Not too loud either.

Helpful?
Thank coachfiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Downhill Service”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This has always been one of our favorite restaurants until lately. The service has gone downhill and the prices have gone up. The waitress was not good at all and she has been there for a long time. Slow at serving drinks and the food. No one came to refill water or ask about more coffee. Ordered martinis which were very good but at $11.25 each they should be. Seems the dinner prices have gone up as well. Guess if we are going back we need to start going for lunch. The ;prices are better then. I hope things get better soon as we did always love going there. Change should be for the better not the worse.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

The waitress started off great. She was very informative about the menu and specials. When she came back to take our order which was two of the salmon and two pot roast dinners. And when we told her we did not want a bottle of wine she never asked if we wanted anything to drink. So at that I asked her for a sprite which she never brought after about 10 minutes we had to ask her again. Then the food came it was wrong, three pot roasts and 1 salmon. She took the pot roast back and did give my husband a cup of soup for the mix up. Didn't come back and check on us had to catch her to ask for a refill on the sprite. She was not attentive at all.The food was ok nothing special for the price they charge. And on the menu for the mashed potatoes it does not inform you that they are loaded with garlic. Not good if your not a fan.And it was soo dark in there you couldn't even read the menu,I'm sorry to say but I get better service and food for the cost at a lot of other places in town. Will not be back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and lovely restaurant”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We happened upon this place as visitors to the area. We have only had lunch there but have come back several times. They have great salads and right now at lunch they have a $15 3-course (appetizer, entree and drink) lunch. We had the salmon and it was absolutely delicious. Wine was also happy hour price at lunch. Great service, would highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debbiehill73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mattison's Forty-One also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mattison's Forty-One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing