We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What an awesome kayak trip.”

Almost Heaven Kayak Adventures
Ranked #4 of 84 Tours in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kayaking eco tours and rentals
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wow! What an awesome kayak trip.”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We had a great Myakka River kayak trip with Almost Heaven Kayak Adventures in the Myakka River State Park. The scenery was outstanding, different varieties of birds were plentiful, and we viewed several alligators up close and personal. This was an outstanding tour, with an excellent guide---Alan, operated by a first rate company. If you want an opportunity to tour the Myakka River away from the crowds in the Park, I highly recommend Almost Heaven. Number of other individuals we encountered on this 4+ hour trip—None.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    25
    7
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lido kayak with Almost Heaven”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Although we are longtime residents of Sarasota, it was our first kayak tour of Lido, the estuaries and little islands and mangrove tunnels. We liked our laid-back guide, Andy, who did a good job assessing individuals' abilities and then staying close or giving space accordingly. He had good local knowledge as a native Sarasotan. We saw cormorant, great blue heron, ibis, egret, ospreys in their nests, sea urchins, jellyfish, mullet jumping. It was a fun outing and we plan to go again and request Andy when visitors come.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Closer view of nature”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We did the South Lido Mangrove Tunnel tour. Did not see Manatees, but did see dolphins, osprey, cormorants and herons up close. It's a totally different view from the water. Our guide, Tommy, was knowledgeable and pleasant, and patient with beginners. We were able to see and hold live conch and sea urchins. Would definitely do it again!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank hold_the_meat_please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Up close and personal”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time on our kayak adventure with our guide Alan from Almost Heaven Kayak Adventures. Definitely consider doing this trip even if you are a beginner or never kayaked. We were able to get right next to a family of manatees that were hanging out in in one of the canals off the bay, great to see them up close! Alan was very good about letting everyone know not to touch or harass them in any way. He gave us information on all the birds and other wildlife we saw in the mangrove tunnels on on the bay. It was a very fun trip and a great way to see the natural world of FL...do it!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank curlync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mangrove tunnel kayak adventure”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

You are crazy if you don't kayak while you are here. While we didn't see any dolphins or manatees this time round, we were escorted by wild birds and our guide Alan told us about sea life and a little history as well. He was great. Definitely using this company when I come back.

Lorraine Jackson MD
Kami Hentges

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Almost Heaven Kayak Adventures also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Almost Heaven Kayak Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing