We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Time...!”

Almost Heaven Kayak Adventures
Ranked #4 of 82 Tours in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kayaking eco tours and rentals
Useful Information: Activities for older children
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First Time...!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was our first time in a Kayak and I will admit to being a little apprehensive Don't worry this is a fun trip for every one. Shane our guide for the Mangrove tour was excellent his knowledge and obvious love for nature was evident we were show all kinds of sea life as well as shore birds. This was the Lido Key Tour, and only my wife and I were on the trip. Thanks Again To Shane For A Wonderful Experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    24
    7
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, wv
1 review
“West Virginians found almost heaven in Florida too”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My son, daughter in law and myself went kayaking with the alligators at the Myakka River and had such an adventure. My son spent days talking us into going and Kelly our guide made it an enjoyable trip. He shared his knowledge of the park and animals. I would recommend it for anyone.

Faith Dangerfield
Charleston, West Virginia

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Faith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Our Kayak Trip on Lido”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Took the Lido kayak tour on Monday and it was fabulous. Our tour guide was Kelly, who is very knowledgeable, comical, and has an overall great personality. Our trip was supposed to be two hours, but we were out much longer. We met McFriendly the baby manatee who swam back and forth between all the kayaks, nudging each one and surfacing repeatedly. She esp. loves Kelly, understandably. The mangrove tunnels were fascinating and beautiful. We had a wonderful time, so will be going again asap. Thanks Kelly and Almost Heaven.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadsden, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paddling with the dolphins”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just took two kayak adventures on Lido Key. Our guide was Kelly. A fine young man and an excellent guide. He is a good conversationalist; knowledgeable and extremely helpful and patient. The trip would not have been as good, I don't believe with another guide. A special thanks to him for making the trip special. Hope to see you next year. David E. Coffey

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Leisurely kayaking on beautiful Lido Key!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just returned from a lovely guided kayak tour of the Lido mangroves. Our guide, Kelly was charming, funny, and knowledgeable! I had a blast and will definitely be going again for either this, or another kayak tour.

The tour ran just a little long because we paddled a little closer to the channel in order to watch dolphins feeding on a school of fish and jumping right out of the water! The cormorants followed us from beginning to end and one even sat on the end of a kayak! The amazing Kelly showed our small group not only cormorants and dolphins, but also a male conch (during mating season, they are bright orange and huge), a lightning whelk, jumping mullet fish, sea urchin, mango tree crabs, ospreys, American brown pelicans and lots of other birds! I learned a LOT about the wildlife and the area's history. Kelly also emphasized the delicate balance of the biodiversity in the area which made me even more appreciative of having a guide who cared about local ecological preservation.

I wanted to mention that one client in our group had some physical limitations (joints), but this was no problem for her or Kelly. Our guide was very helpful and accommodating and gladly towed her kayak during times she was unable to continue paddling. Contact Almost Heaven if this is a concern for you. From what I can tell, this is a nice, leisurely paddle for anyone in reasonably good health, but if for some reason you do need assistance, help is there if needed. With Kelly's help, it didn't stop this client from enjoying an amazing morning on the water today! Don't pass it up!

The paddling was easy and leisurely, but come prepared with a hat, sunglasses, water, and sunscreen. The mangrove tunnels were only a small part of the tour (but amazing, nonetheless). Most of the time is spent in the bay under the hot sun, but it's worth every second. Seems like the morning is the best time to go, but with so much wildlife, I'd never advise against any available tour!

This is a great activity for a group of friends, families (probably not babies and toddlers, but call and see what their experience is), teens, couples, and just going it alone. Myakka is next on my list and I'll definitely ask for Kelly!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jencrowder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Almost Heaven Kayak Adventures also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Almost Heaven Kayak Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing