We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent little aquarium!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium

Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium
Ranked #4 of 138 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the Mote Marine Laboratory, this is home to a 135,000 gallon outdoor shark tank and many other marine species.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
310 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent little aquarium!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Staff was very accommodating and explained the different species and mammals to us. A bit pricey for such a small aquarium but worth the trip.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RJB1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,820
    837
    235
    46
    20
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Aquarium...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I definitely want to go back soon! I enjoyed seeing the sea turtles and the dolphin they had when we visited. The Manatees were huge!!We always bring our family and relatives to this aquarium every time they visit! It's a nice area and it's wonderful that they are a rehabilitative facility!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A great outing for our family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a great aquarium with something for everyone. A fun thing to do while in the Sarasota area. There are two sections of the aquarium, and one is a short walk from the other. If someone can't do the walk, additional parking is nearby.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GreekamericanMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
340 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Behind the Scenes Tour was Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

The behind the scenes tour before hours really gave us a look at what actually goes on at this working laboratory. Much more than an aquarium, we were able to learn about feeding, research, medical car and even got to feed some fish. Our tour guides were scientists that worked at the laboratory. We purchased a membership to allow us admission as well. Worth the extra money if you live near by and want to return more than once a year.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AnitaS484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice for mini versions of an aquarium”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Nice takes maybe 2 hours to get through the 2 separate buildings. The staff is quite knowledgeable on the local sea life. I learn quite a bit about the local conch. They had manatees, dolphins, stingrays, sharks, and even the largest giant squid known in the world

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Natashad19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing