We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mote Aquarium”

Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Sarasota Bayfront Kayaking with Optional Selby Garden Tour
Ranked #4 of 143 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the Mote Marine Laboratory, this is home to a 135,000 gallon outdoor shark tank and many other marine species.
Central NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mote Aquarium”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Rented a boat for an excursion in the intercoastal waterway. Turns out the captain was a marine biologist. She was very helpful, friendly and a wealth of information. We had a great time and would do it again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank drusct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,942
    883
    247
    47
    22
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a wonderful aquarium”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a must see, in particular for families. The staff are incredibly informative. This a winner for the city of Sarasota. If you are going frequently with family or friends look into the year pass it is a better deal. Loved our visit!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very entertaining and educational”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The aquarium is well laid out with many interesting exhibits, species, and fish to see, and staff are at hand to inform and advise for whatever you need to know. Also the sea lions show is very good. In addition the boat trip around the bay was excellent, and there is a marine biologist on board to describe and show what is under the water by catching creatures in a net and passing around the boat for a very close look. My wife and I enjoyed the day very much.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NoggintheNogYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It never gets old.”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My family and I went to the Mote Marine Aquarium in December. It was wonderful. My son's favorite part is the manatees. There are not a lot of places in the world where a person can see a full sized manatee swimming around. The new seal area is a nice addition, however the exhibits do not change a lot. It is an experience that should no be missed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hamilton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Smaller than you think but worth it!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We loved our side trip here. We like to miss the hottest part of the day by going inside. Though we have a wonderful aquarium in Boston, we saw lots of sea animals, and never before seen creatures. And though it seems small they have two buildings to visit. We almost missed the second one with the turtles! Very informative, lots of volunteers on hand to give you some background about the center and their rescue mission.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank muchogracias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing