We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rough looking, but served us well.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Knights Inn Sarasota
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Sarasota
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Easy check-in, with warm pleasant staff. Pretty good location—short drive to downtown, near restaurants, museums and airport. The room was a little rough looking and outdated with poor lighting and very few power outlets, but had everything we needed: wifi, safe, mini fridge, coffee maker. The King bed was comfortable, but the blanket was not large enough. Fortunately the room temperature did not require much bed covering. Housekeeping was responsive to requests for water and coffee, I am sure if I asked, they would have provided another blanket. The pool area was clean and pleasant. Would have liked to use the guest laundry but the washer had been left with soggy pillow fluff, (I think) so I did not use it. Once I got used to the rough look, I found it very pleasant. We stayed a week and I would come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieK190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knightsinnsarasota, Webmaster at Knights Inn Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Knights Inn for your stay and we are glad that you found your stay and our hospitality satisfactory.

Even then we are paying serious attention to the points for improvement as mentioned in the review.

We are committed to give an extra ordinary experience to all our guests.

We look forward to welcome you again to our Inn very soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 303 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had a hard time finding any vacancies in Sarasota for our trip, so decided to give the Knights Inn a try considering that we wouldn't be in the room much, the Trip Advisor ratings looked pretty good and the price was below $100. Things didn't get off to a good start when they gave us a smoking room and said that was all they had. I don't reserve smoking rooms, but apparently the was a "mix-up". The room positively reeked of stale smoke and air freshener, actually making it hard to breath. The good news was, that was the worst of it. Yes, the bed was worn out, the towels were thin and shower water temperature was impossible to regulate. None of that was unexpected, and none of that was a deal-breaker - it's a low-end hotel in a high-price area. The little breakfast in the office was a very nice touch. If they had given me a non-smoking room it might have all balanced out: price and location vs run-down hotel. But that didn't happen, and both of us came home ill from breathing the bad air. I'm not sure how the reservation got messed up, but it leaves me a little suspect of both Knights Inn and Wyndham (parent company) in general and I'll be very careful next time I reserve anything from them.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jh26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knightsinnsarasota, Webmaster at Knights Inn Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us during your last visit to our area.

We appreciate your review and really worry how the mess could happen.

Nevertheless, our heartfelt apologies for the inconveniences about the stay.

We have taken corrective measures to avoid such incidences in future which you can check and confirm.

Thanks for liking the breakfast and we assure a best stay next time.

Please do consider visiting the Knights Inn again and have a new experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed a couple nights at this hotel. Overall our experience was good. The room was clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel is a bit rundown however...our toilet didn't always flush on the first try,the water temperature of the shower reached scalding temperatures, and the lights in the bathroom would at times not turn on. The free breakfast was pretty small. It included bagles, toast, English muffins, coffee, juice, and bananas. It was a convenient location to most of the popular sights.For the price, overall it was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KSMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We booked only one night....and that's a blessing. We chose it for its location as we wanted to spend a fun night on Paddys Day on Main St Sarasota...with all its bars and restaurants. Not much else available on short notice so we picked this place. I didn't expect a lot at the low $77.00 per night rate .
Front desk were friendly and the room was clean .....but it's badly in need of repairs and a renovation. The air condition was old and rusty , Bathroom had a poor plaster job all around the lights and part of the wall...it smelled musty too. Didn't sleep all night...too dingy for me. Not sure why dogs are not allowed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank easterntreker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knightsinnsarasota, Webmaster at Knights Inn Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Knights Inn during your last visit to our area.

We appreciate for taking the time to post a review which would definitely help us to improve.

Glad that you liked the hospitality of the front desk and the cleanliness.

We have noted and taken steps to improve the amenities and also renovation is on the cards.

Next time, please visit us once again and you can surely feel the change.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I'm a single mother with a son-teenager. We are staying in this hotel second time. Our last time we had a few complaints about the hotel, but still wanted to come back next time. Well, this time is awesome! Plus it's still good location - easy to get in and out, plus very close to I-75 to get, it's very useful for come drivers who are not very confident, like me! ))) Then still same nice friendly staff, I believe it's a family business. Very close to Ringling Museum, which I like so much. So DEFINITELY next will stay here - no doubts!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalia271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Room seemed newly painted and furnished, large and comfortable with small fridge and micro. Continental breakfast was picked up in the reception area and taken back to ones room. That seems to be the norm for some of the independent motels.

We found no light switch near the door so we had to walk into the room in the dark to turn on a lamp. Thewre were 3 lamps in the room and they gave such poor lighting that it was difficult to read in bed or any other place. The airconditioner functioned but the top grate was rusted off and rusty metal and dirt was accumulated in the air conditioner.

There was a hair dryer and safe in the room. When we got the bill I saw a charge of $1.50 for misc. per day. We were told it was for the safe. They did not tell us about this charge when we checked in. The room was basically cleanand comfortable with clean carpets.The independent hotels seem to have cleaner carpets than the chains of the same price class. Perhaps it is because the independents are newer. It was a perfectly OK motel for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knightsinnsarasota, Webmaster at Knights Inn Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Knights Inn for your stay and we are glad that you found your stay satisfactory.

We have taken prompt actions for improvement as mentioned in the review especially the lighting and amenities like air conditioner.

Glad that you found the cleanliness and carpets up to the mark.

We are committed to give an extra ordinary experience to all our guests.

We look forward to welcome you again to our Inn very soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We decided to visit the Siesta Key area spur of the moment March 2013 staying 4 nights. Older motel but clean and spotless. Excellent hospitality by management and staff. They make every effort to go over and beyond to make sure your stay is what it should be without being a nuisance. Our bed was very comfortable and clean. We were just minutes away from beautiful Siesta Key Beach with half the price for lodging. I highly recommend Knight's Inn if you are looking to save money but desire a clean, friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Sarasota
Days Inn Sarasota
#32 of 50 in Sarasota
405 reviews
0.6 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#29 of 50 in Sarasota
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Sarasota
Sleep Inn Sarasota
#40 of 50 in Sarasota
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Sarasota Bradenton Airport
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota-Bradenton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Sarasota

Address: 5340 N Tamiami Trail - US 41, Us 41, Sarasota, FL 34234-2746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range: $76 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Sarasota 1.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most of your trip to the Sunshine State at Knights Inn Sarasota hotel. Conveniently located on Route 41 the Tamiami Trail, our hotel near Sarasota-Bradenton International Airport offers easy access to downtown and beachfront living on Siesta Key. Each morning, get going with free continental breakfast in our lobby, then plan your day from the comfort of your hotel room, complete with free high-speed Internet access, a microwave and refrigerator. Keurig in room coffee machine and in room safe available. Catch some rays in your spare time with a swim in our outdoor pool. Non-smoking accommodations are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our hotel in Sarasota, Florida. Tour the campuses at New College of Florida and University of South Florida Sarasota-Manatee, just one mile from our Sarasota hotel. Explore the collections at The John and Mable Ringling Museum of Art, take a walk through the exhibits at the Circus Museum or see the display of antique autos at the Sarasota Classic Car Museum, less than five minutes away. Head out on the town and watch a performance at Asolo Repertory Theatre, less than five minutes from our door. If golf is your game, play 18 holes in the Florida sunshine on the tree-lined course at Rolling Green Golf Club, less than 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knights Inn Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing