We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you don't require beach front, this is a well priced option...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here on the extremely busy July Fourth weekend in the Sarasota area, not realizing that it was the annual power boat show, parade and races. Most of the beach front hotels were sold out and the ones that were not were too expensive for our needs.
It's located across from the tower side of Sarasota airport and you definitely will need a car to get to the beach areas and other sites of interest. It's only a few miles, but since you are not at the beach you should get an early start, by about 9 or 10 am to find a parking spot at Lido Beach or Anna Maria Island, etc.
This hotel has a strikingly lovely decor which you do not expect from looking at the outside.
The soaring six story atrium with large skylight and the glass elevator that stops behind a waterfall on the lobby level all contribute. There is a comfortable bar and restaurant area hidden from view of the atrium center and a small but nice Seattle's Best coffee bar just inside the far end of the atrium.
The rooms were nicer than expected, especially for the very reasonable pricing.
One minor drawback is that, probably due to the open atrium, sound can carry to the upper floors from activity in the atrium lobby level. I'd recommend more sound proof room doors in the future. You could also request a room on one of the two narrow ends of each floor that are not directly on the atrium hall.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claireleefl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hisrqgm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you so very much for your comments about Holiday Inn Sarasota Airport.We strive very hard to exceed every guest’s expectation and our team is proud that we have succeeded and you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to serving you in the near future at your next trip to Sarasota.
Best Regards
Mohammad Gharavi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 550 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is my second stay at this hotel, the first time was a deal through hotwire and I didn't know the hotel name before making the reservation but this time I looked for this hotel expressly. Not only the hotel is modern and eclectic, the service is outstanding, the all the staff was really kind and helpful, food at the grill was great and not pricey. I got the deal with the breakfast for two included. The coin laundry is free and we found the time to take a sauna too. We will definitely come back to this hotel again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funtastic1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hisrqgm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you so very much for your comments about Holiday Inn Sarasota Airport. We strive very hard to exceed every guest’s expectation and our team is proud that we have succeeded and you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to serving you in the near future at your next trip to Sarasota.
Best Regards
Mohammad Gharavi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I'm not getting that close to find out but if the saying applies to hotels; this one is in trouble.

You may have seen my raves about this place and the people and the restaurant. Well, I gave them another chance after being ferociously disappointed with the Back Office Staff/Management.

Cause of Disappointments:
1. My travel schedule changed and I wasn't able to be there for an overnight package and UPS couldn't cancel it. I called twice and spoke with the GM's assistant and with Rosa and advised that it was very important for them to refuse delivery. They didn't pass the information to the Front Desk so the package was accepted (even though my reservation had also been cancelled). It took a week for UPS to untangle what had happened but on the three occasions they tried to retrieve the package, no one could find it. During subsequent calls to the hotel, I was repeatedly told I had to give them a credit card number so they could remail the item. I declined. Two months later when I arrived, one of my favorite desk clerks excavated the (thankfully unopened) package hiding in a cupboard.

2. To thank this young man and several other individuals, I arranged for ten pounds of Cheryls cookies to be delivered. They were specifically addressed to him by name at the Front Desk and the card had a list of the other staff to share with. On my visit during the subsequent month, I asked how he'd liked them. He never received them. Turns out the Guest Services Manager had intercepted the package ($98 worth), given out three of the cookies and taken the other 45 home with him after explaining that a guest had sent them to him.

The situation was made worse by being advised that the GM would call me to discuss the issue and the Guest Services Manager was due to arrive for work in 30 minutes and would apologize to me. I waited for two hours. The GSM had been jumped by a rogue strain of the flu hiding in his car's dashboard and returned home and the GM had misplaced the index finger so crucial to his ability to dial telephone numbers.

So another month lapsed before my travels returned me to Sarasota. And I stopped on my way to the SRQ Hampton.
This time Rosa was in no mood to discuss the issue and belligerently asked what it would take to stop me from bringing up what had happened. I responded that I wasn't in the business of extortion and she had been in the hospitality industry long enough to know that the gesture is everything in customer service.
At that point I was pretty sure I knew what gesture they were considering so I replied that I'd tried to resolve the situation but it was clear they did not take employee thefts seriously. So I left.

I'm not certain Trip Advisor will publish this but it is an excellent indicator that if there are problems, the Management is either unable or unwilling to deal with them effectively.

So if you're planning an event here, I would make certain you have legal counsel loitering off stage.

If you're just staying the night, you are probably fine. I still have faith in the housekeeping department, the food service and maintenance crews and the Front Desk people.

It's just a shame that Management felt they didn't deserve extra special recognition sent from a grateful guest.

Thus endeth the sermon for the day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BluntedHedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear BluntedHedgehog,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for the 4th of July. This hotel was very clean, staff was courteous, free wi-fi in the privacy of your own room. Nice sports bar and grill but of course it was very expensive. Didn't take advantage of free breakfast because we wanted to visit restaurants. The only thing is its about 9 miles from Siesta Key beach and a lot of the other attractions and popular restaurants, so we did a lot of driving. Long story short, I would stay again. It was a very comfortable and clean place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hisrqgm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you so very much for your comments about Holiday Inn Sarasota Airport. We strive very hard to exceed every guest’s expectation and our team is proud that we have succeeded and you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to serving you in the near future at your next trip to Sarasota.
Best Regards
Mohammad Gharavi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We managed to book this hotel through hotwire so got a very reasonable deal compared to booking the hotel direct. The hotel itself is located away from all the attractions and there is nothing within walking distance so a car is essential. Do not let this put you off, the hotel is lovely, rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated with a very nice size bathroom. The hotel facilities are also very good. Overall, I would stay at the hotel again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewAndCeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hisrqgm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you so very much for your comments about Holiday Inn Sarasota Airport. We strive very hard to exceed every guest’s expectation and our team is proud that we have succeeded and you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to serving you in the near future at your next trip to Sarasota.
Best Regards
Mohammad Gharavi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I was very Amaze of this hotel and how beautiful and clean it was...I will recomend anybody to stay here...for such a cheap price I was expecting less than what I got,,I was very happy & my family& friends love it....

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bibiyoyonena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hisrqgm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you so very much for your comments about Holiday Inn Sarasota Airport. We strive very hard to exceed every guest’s expectation and our team is proud that we have succeeded and you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to serving you in the near future at your next trip to Sarasota.
Best Regards
Mohammad Gharavi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

So, my hotel on Hotwire turns out to be the Holiday Inn Airport...ho hum. But wait, from the decor to the staff it was surprisingly terrific! Even the location was a winner as it was close to our function and amenities but secluded. Airport you say? Well it is located in an industrial park with little traffic and quiet for it's proximity to the airport.

The furnishings in the public areas are updated modern; if you didn't know you were in a Holiday Inn (not to cut down Holiday Inns) you would think you were in a more upscale hotel. The room was comfortable, quiet, and well appointed. The complimentary breakfast was very average.

Jennifer, the front desk clerk, was very accommodating, friendly, and anticipated our needs.

We fly out of SRQ when we travel to Europe because it's easier to maneuver through customs and security than our hometown airport of Tampa. So this will be our "night before" hotel of choice when heading out of SRQ.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mustangs81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hisrqgm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you so very much for your comments about Holiday Inn Sarasota Airport and our front office staff Jennifer. We strive very hard to exceed every guest’s expectation and our team is proud that we have succeeded and you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to serving you in the near future at your next trip to Sarasota.
Best Regards
Mohammad Gharavi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Sarasota / Bradenton Airport
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sarasota - Bradenton Airport
10.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#2 of 51 in Sarasota
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota-Bradenton Airport
3.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 51 in Sarasota
947 reviews
7.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport

Address: 8009 15th St E, Sarasota, FL 34243-2713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range: $107 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Sarasota Bradenton Airport is a 135 room premier boutique hotel in the heart of Sarasota and Bradenton. Chic, contemporary decor, and an unsurpassed range of amenities, it is ideal for sophisticated business and leisure travelers.The Holiday Inn Sarasota Bradenton Airport Restaurant and Lounge features dining al fresco under the blue skies and exquisite cuisine, deliciously created. The rooms and suites are spacious, state-of-the-art amenities such as 36" flat-panel TV and free Wi-Fi. The Holiday Inn Sarasota Bradenton Airport offers exceptional event facilities for groups of 10 to 200, enjoy convenient access to venues of Sarasota and Bradenton. Relax in our indoor pool or work-out in our fitness facility. Explore the best from golf, shopping at St Armands Circle, restaurants and the beautiful white sandy beaches of Siesta Key, Lido Beach, Longboat Key and Anna Maria Island. Hotel is adjacent to the Sarasota Bradenton International Convention Center and attractions such as: Ringling Museum of Art, Asolo Theatre, VanWezel Performing Arts, & Mote Marine. Located within a few miles of University of South Florida, New College, and Ringling College of Art. Neighboring corporate offices are: Sun Hydraulics, Honeywell, Chris Craft, Pierce Manufacturing, Rectrix Air, Volo Air, Dolphin Aviation, Siemens, and Lockheed Martin. We guarantee you will have an memorable experience, that will meet and exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport Hotel Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing