We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I must say that I have not stayed at a Holiday Inn in 30 years or more since the last one was run down and worn out. However, this HI was anything but worn out. The check-in was open and bright. The check-in process could have been faster but that was due to a alot of questions from a guest. The atrium was open and had lots of seating for socializing and meetings. There was a coffee bar and drink bar as well as a restaurant. The hotel also has an indoor pool, spa, jacuzzi and sauna.

The room was absolutely amazing (room 517). I think I am so impressed due to the fact it was not at all what I expected. I sent my husband pictures and he thought it was a Hilton, not a Hilton Garden Inn, but a Hilton. I noticed some reviewers said that room was heavily scented, but I did not experience that in my room or corridor. The room had a desk, chair and ottoman, 37 inch LG flat screen and a very comfortable King size bed. I also love the little touch of having the flexible reading lights on each side of the bed. An extra added touch was the firm or soft pillows that were wrapped with a cloth tie and sign identifying each. The room had dark mahogony colored furniture. The bed had a thick and comfortable mattress and bed. For those with kids, the room has a refridgerator for snacks and leftovers, however there was not microwave in the room. You could put a pack and play in the room, but it would be a bit crowded, maybe the rooms with 2 doubles are bigger. The hotel provides you with free Wi-fi in the room. There were a few dings- I found a long hair on my bed, the remote for the television didn't work properly and I can not stand to have the drinking glasses in the bathroom. When you flush the toilet, puffs of nastiness enter the air and get on bathroom items, including the glasses- YUCK!

The bathroom was of a nice size, my room had a shower that two people could fit in. It had 2 seats. The sink was a granite counter with an above counter sink. I really like the open table style of storage in the bathroom. The bathroom also had Bath and Body Works products for skin and hair care. They also provide you with a blowdryer.

I did hear a few planes in the morning but did not hear them at night. It was not so loud as to be disturbing. My a/c worked well in the room. The hotel is convenient to St. Armands Circle, Barnum and Bailey Museum and the harbor.

Definitely eat at the Columbia restaurant in the Circle.

One of my room keys said Stay Impressed and I definitely am. Watch out Hilton!

Room Tip: Room 517 was a very nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7continents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 551 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stay at this hotel everytime I come to Sarasota. The hotel is modern and clean, and the staff friendly. However the one negative is the restaurant, the food isn't good and it's pricey.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lila108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Friendly staff, updated decor, very busy. No airport noise at all. New pillows are small and they don't give you extras. The air conditioners turn on and off throughout the night- woke me up a few times- can't have the fan on all the time. Otherwise fine. Complimentary coffee in the morning. They have a sports bar and restaurant in the lobby. No other options close by to the hotel unless you have a car.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floridatraveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

Dear Floridatraveller75,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We chose this Holiday Inn because it was located right next to New College. The convenience of where it was located at was great. The staff were nice. The rooms were clean and nice. The beds though were as hard as a rock and all of us complained the next morning about our backs and shoulders(side sleepers) in pain all night. I would stay here again if they changed out the beds. The breakfast attendant was great and only charged me $2.50 for the omelette I ate instead of the full price for the buffett.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Need a hotel close to the airport? Can't beat this upgraded holiday inn. Rooms are fantastic. Hotel only has indoor pool, but was great for the price. My king room had a whirlpool that played music! Kind of cheesy but it was relaxing after a full work day.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelHero13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hisrqgm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

Thank you so very much for your comments about our hotel, The Holiday Inn Sarasota Airport. We strive very hard to exceed every guest’s expectation and our team is proud that we have succeeded. Glad you enjoyed your jacuzzi and the music. Looking forward to serving you in a very near future.
Best Regards
Mohammad Gharavi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Did I mention this was a great hotel? Unfortunately we only spent one night here but was still able to enjoy the delightful indoor pool with outdoor area and the wonderful firepit lounging area. I read an article in the business centre that the owner wanted to build/design the most "unholiday inn" Holidy Inn and I would say he did this with flying colours. We did not have a chance to eat in the hotel restaurant but read in other reviews that it is also unlike most hotel restaurants.
Hotel is very close to Sarasota airport but we were not flying out so did not avail ourselves of shuttle service.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyCanadian13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hisrqgm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

Thank you so very much for your comments about our hotel, The Holiday Inn Sarasota Airport. We strive very hard to exceed every guest’s expectation and our team is proud that we have succeeded. At your next visit we would love you to enjoy the Sporting News Grill, Cheff Mizell does a fantastic job with his food. Looking forward to serving you in a very near future.
Best Regards
Mohammad Gharavi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

IF YOU ARE SENSITIVE TO ODORS OF ANY TYPE....STAY AWAY. This hotel went all out on plush, modern lobby and upbeat room decor. Very cosmopolitan feel when entering. However, rooms are highly fragranced. Checked in after 5 pm, walked into room and smelled like Febreeze was used on everything--carpets, bed, all surfaces. Windows did not open--not even a crack--so unable to let in some fresh air. Girl at front desk's response: " Yeah, if you are sensitive to any type of smells, this is definitely not the hotel to stay at". Spoke with manager to get credit card charge reversed and she said the scents were just part of the cleaning process. With a non-smoking hotel that is 3 years old, you have to wonder what they are trying to cover up.
Even after getting into my car, the scent was in my hair and on my lips--no exaggeration.
Get with the times Holiday Inn: With all your attempts at re-branding to a higher standard atleast set aside a few rooms (like other hotels do) that refrain from using fragrances.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travelspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hisrqgm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, First and foremost I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectation and our facility and services fell short of your expectations.We take all our guest comments to heart and use them to educate and train our team to be sensitive to guests needs and consistently provide outstanding and impeccable service. I have shared your views with our housekeeping team and will strive to exceed your expectations at your next visit to Sarasota and The Holiday Inn Sarasota Airport.
Looking forward to serving you.
Mohammad Gharavi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Sarasota / Bradenton Airport
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sarasota - Bradenton Airport
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota-Bradenton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 51 in Sarasota
948 reviews
10 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#2 of 51 in Sarasota
711 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 51 in Sarasota
2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport

Address: 8009 15th St E, Sarasota, FL 34243-2713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range: $108 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Sarasota Bradenton Airport is a 135 room premier boutique hotel in the heart of Sarasota and Bradenton. Chic, contemporary decor, and an unsurpassed range of amenities, it is ideal for sophisticated business and leisure travelers.The Holiday Inn Sarasota Bradenton Airport Restaurant and Lounge features dining al fresco under the blue skies and exquisite cuisine, deliciously created. The rooms and suites are spacious, state-of-the-art amenities such as 36" flat-panel TV and free Wi-Fi. The Holiday Inn Sarasota Bradenton Airport offers exceptional event facilities for groups of 10 to 200, enjoy convenient access to venues of Sarasota and Bradenton. Relax in our indoor pool or work-out in our fitness facility. Explore the best from golf, shopping at St Armands Circle, restaurants and the beautiful white sandy beaches of Siesta Key, Lido Beach, Longboat Key and Anna Maria Island. Hotel is adjacent to the Sarasota Bradenton International Convention Center and attractions such as: Ringling Museum of Art, Asolo Theatre, VanWezel Performing Arts, & Mote Marine. Located within a few miles of University of South Florida, New College, and Ringling College of Art. Neighboring corporate offices are: Sun Hydraulics, Honeywell, Chris Craft, Pierce Manufacturing, Rectrix Air, Volo Air, Dolphin Aviation, Siemens, and Lockheed Martin. We guarantee you will have an memorable experience, that will meet and exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport Hotel Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing