We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool place to hang out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smokin' Joe's Pub

Smokin' Joe's Pub
Ranked #566 of 1,026 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
WESLEY CHAPEL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cool place to hang out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

My wife wanted to find a place to hangout on a rainy day....and shoot pool. Found this place from the web and glad we did. And we did just that...old pool table and then sat outside on the patio.... Simple bar with lots of TVs and a nice cigar humidor to find a nice selection of cigars. Beer is cold, drinks are good. Not very fancy. Nice place to have a drink and a smoke.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TampaTraveler4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    19
    6
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
236 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“O.K. if indeed you are a smoker”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

As it's name suggests this is a great bar for those of the population who still are slaves to nicotine. Can be really noisy and it can be a while to et served but it has great atmosphere and is like going back 30 years in time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SrqMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best bar in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have been coming to Joe's three years now. When we first started coming it was a less popular bar and it has since gained a lot of attention. We enjoy the setting, the ability to play our own music (Jukebox), and the staff. The bartenders, bouncers and bar backs have always been helpful and our prompt with our drinks.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Love the selcection of Cigars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Always busy. Bar seems to have a variety of wine, beer and spirits.

Music can be too loud at time.

Cigar choices the best in area at reasonable prices.

Friendly staff.......

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad experience with staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Went there last Friday night, place was packed and everything was good. Then an altercation broke out in the middle of the bar between two patrons . The bartender Kyle jumped the bar and choked one of the aggressors by the throat and shoved him into the crowd. I was talking to two girls who I got shoved into because of this, the bartender ended up shoving me and the girls I was with across the floor and then knocking my drink out of my hand, breaking the glass.

No one from the staff apologized or replaced my drink. Thankfully I'm a sizable guy, someone smaller than me could have been hurt.

Helpful?
4 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokin' Joe's Pub also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Smokin' Joe's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing