We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of fun but needs updating”
Review of G.WIZ - The Science Museum - CLOSED

G.WIZ - The Science Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: GWIZ is a 501(c)(3) science and technology center nestled on the edge of Sarasota Bay in downtown Sarasota. The mission of GWIZ is to be the gateway to lifelong adventures in science. With a focus on STEM Education, we are in the business of igniting imaginations and creating that 'a-ha' moment for people of all ages. GWIZ offers numerous interactive zones focusing on all things science, a critter habitat, and a Fab Lab. Visitors also have several program options such as summer camps, Lifelong Learning, birthday parties, Educational Outreach, and the list goes on! We believe there is great value in embodied learning, learning that sticks with ya' ... come get nerdy with GWIZ!
Sarasota, F
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Kind of fun but needs updating”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

When I have nieces and nephews in town, I try to get to G. Wiz. They seem to enjoy it but with more excitement from their iPads, I know we won't stay there long. IT could use an update

Helpful?
3 Thank Siesta_Key_Heart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWIZ S, Public Relations Manager at G.WIZ - The Science Museum, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for visiting us so often in the past! The new management at GWIZ is working hard to do just what you've suggested ... UPDATE! Keep you eyes and ears open for the brand new GWIZ!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    6
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not worth it!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

I have only been here 2 times and i am never going back! My first visit was nice since they had a cool human anatomy exhibit, but i went back a few months ago and was highly disappointed! They charge way too much for the play area, which are very old and dirty pieces of equipment!

Helpful?
3 Thank Tarabutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not worth the admission price”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I've been to a number of science/children's museums and this is the worst. Pretty boring, kids age 7-10 probably would get the most of it, but it's not set up to really draw them into the activities. Everything's in one large room, with just stations every 10 feet or so throughout. It wasn't real busy when we were there, but if it had been during school trips I imagine it would have been incredibly chaotic because of the vast room and free play atmosphere it is. Several of the displays didn't work correctly. The little kids area was nothing impressive either, and fully accessible by the too big kids as well as didn't contain the toddlers from wandering into the area where they could get run over. There is a special exhibit on Medical History on the top floor right now, was hoping it would be neat, but again not too impressive. Overall, totally not worth the admission price for the visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank ictkscitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Repeat visits”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I have taken my granddaughter three times over a few years and every visit she discovers different fun things. It is very educational for children while they play. I will be back with other little ones...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LilliO_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Kids Museum”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

It's better for kids around 7-10 yrs of age. Great way to get out of the sun. They have a variety of new things every month so check to see what's new when you get here!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sunsets222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed G.WIZ - The Science Museum also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing