We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Treat!”
Review of The Ringling

The Ringling
Ranked #1 of 141 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Ringling is located in Sarasota, Florida and preserves the legacy of John and Mable Ringling. It is home to a Museum of Art, the historic Ca' d'Zan Mansion, Bayfront Gardens, an Art Library, the Circus Museums and the Historic Asolo Theater.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a Treat!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

A fabulous few hours! The museum includes a circus museum with old carts, Mr. Ringling's private Pullman Car, a human cannon truck, costumes, circus posters and more. There was also a learning center, shops, cafés, beautiful gardens, banyon trees and the gorgeous Ringling Mansion (the view is incredible)! There is also a magnificent art museum with a private collection that is not to be believed! There is also a summer circus which was sold out which looked incredibly popular. Please note that if you plan ahead and buy your tickets from AAA , you get a discount. But the $25 each that we paid was fine - it was well worth it and a lovely way to spend the day!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Douglasthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,069
    947
    151
    29
    65
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
202 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“special ringling summer mini circus performance”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

this is a special performance twice a day in the old Asolo theater, for part of June and July, ending first week of August. Performances by circus students and some other artists are designed for "children of all ages". One does not need to pay the admission charge for the Ringling museum to see the circus, but for $5 one can visit the circus museum after the show. Alternatively, one can do as we did, just tour the grounds (which is free) after the show. We also went to Treviso for lunch following the performance.
The circus museum (with the miniature circus) is excellent, and I recommend everyone in Sarasota visit it. We toured Ca d'Zan (the house) and the circus museum and the art museum (which is very good for a city the size of Sarasota), but this visit we only went to the one hour circus performance and toured the grounds as we had spent the morning on Lido beach.

before the circus began, the clown entertained the crowd by tickling my husband's head with a feather (to which he and I were oblivious) and then picked three children from the audience with whom to do tricks.

I recommend the circus performance for families with young children. We went alone, without children. The hand balancing performer was outstanding, and the magicians who were "quick change" artists were excellent. I understand that the hand balancing performer was on Americas Got Talent, and he definitely is talented.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ebfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Flashback of Childhood Memories”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Ringling Brothers and Barnum and Bailey Circus is a must see
museum. They had a live show but I would only rated as good.
We appreciated the shuttle van that took us to the various areas to see everything. I wished that they would open earlier so that
we can see more of the mansion and art museum.

The Cadiz Mansion is worthwhile to see in appreciating the life style of the rich and famous in the 1920's. The grand stair case
and reception room were beautiful. They even had a working
elevator that we rode in. The kitchen and dining room were quite impressive with the latest cooking appliances. We pay an additional fee to see the second level which were the bedrooms. It's a Venetian mansion and the home was beautiful. The tiles
and the patio overview of the bay was breath taking.

Since the Ringling Brothers traveled in Europe, they brought a lot of art work that was housed in the museum. We were quite impressed with the collection.

The artifacts of the Ringling Brother Circus housed in a separate building was good. They had a display of what the circus would look like when it came into town.

We spent about 6 hours in this multiplex facilities. They have
a senior discount. We enjoyed this very much.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kings2nT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful, fun, and entertaining”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I've been at this museum a few times. I always recommend it for people. It is beautiful!!! The art gallery and gardens areamazing, and the miniature circus is just so incredible well done.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelbug56Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An art museum with beautiful grounds”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a nice art museum, with many European works of the 16th and 17th centuries. But more impressive to me was the grounds. We enjoyed strolling them. For those who don't want to walk a lot, trams are available.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KennyFanFairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ringling also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Ringling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing