We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Must See"”
Review of The Ringling

The Ringling
Ranked #1 of 141 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Ringling is located in Sarasota, Florida and preserves the legacy of John and Mable Ringling. It is home to a Museum of Art, the historic Ca' d'Zan Mansion, Bayfront Gardens, an Art Library, the Circus Museums and the Historic Asolo Theater.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
new jersey
Level Contributor
163 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“"Must See"”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I were told to visit by someone who works with him. We were so glad we took his advice. The whole experience was wonderful. We learned much about the circus and how it started and very much enjoyed the tour of the mansion built by Mabel Ringling and the history behind it. The museum was fabulous and you could easily spend a day on the various free tours they offer. If you are in the area do go and see it. Another piece of advice is that if you are an AAA member and buy the tickets in advance you do save some money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bigglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,065
    946
    151
    29
    65
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sykesville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is the Greatest Show on Earth”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Took my 13 year old son here while on vacation. He was reluctant since it had 'museum' in the title. Needless to say we spent 5 hours touring the museum. We both loved it. The hands on building was fantastic and the tour of Ca'd'Zan mansion was breath taking and very educational. The mini circus exhibit was absolutely incredible, so much detail put into it. I would recommend this for all ages.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was one of the coolest places I've ever been too. The miniature circus is incredible and being able to see all of the actual animal train carriers was so cool I would definitely recommend this to anyone. We loved it just as much as our son did.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

It's just amazing!! I would love to return again soon b/c I still didn't feel like I was able to see everything there was to see.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never lacking in CULTURE !”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Wonderful place for mid-western American tourists to get a
quick art appreciation tour...but we followed behind an older
woman Volunteer & her group. She gave out far too many wrong
statements on the pieces - she was historically wrong, Artist was
given wrong country of origin or age of piece. But her crowd
knew no better.
You canNOT come to a Florida towne/city without going to their
most costlier engagement & this Museum has had millions in
renovation + is about as "political" as the White House. Must
see!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miaamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ringling also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Ringling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing