We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the short drive from Siesta Key”

Gecko's Grill & Pub
Ranked #144 of 1,046 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: American Pub Food with a Gourmet Twist. Locally owned since 1992 and perennial winner of Best Sports Bar, Best Burger, Best Wings, Best Fries, Best Business Lunch, Best Happy Hour & more! 2-4-1 Happy Hour All Day, Every Day and locally sourced seasonal fare with the Gecko's Hospitality Group's exceptional hospitality component!
Loveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Worth the short drive from Siesta Key”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stopped here after driving over the Stickney bridge to get some supplies. It was well worth it. Our whole party loved the food. The service was fantastic (I think her name was Sam). The check was very inexpensive even with an appetizer. We have til the end of the month in Siesta Key and it was so good we will go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrooviGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    98
    26
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Go To Restaurant”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Geckos on Clark Rd is our favorite " go to" place for a variety of food choices. It has a lively pub/sports bar atmosphere that usually enjoys a large crowd of locals. Between the many flat screen tvs on the walls, and the background music, the place may seem to be a little loud for some. But in our opinion this just adds to its local persona. The food choices have always been tasty and the service by their young staff is very attentive. Just a great all around choice that others imitate but can't duplicate. Btw, it's always happy hour.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GPDfinest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“awesome food and service”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

When i mentioned the place to my wife i could see that she wasnt too happy with our selection she thought we were going to get bar\pub food but i tell you what once we walked in i could see her mood changing for the better the atmosphere was nice and the staff and locals were very freindly. We did have to wait about 20 minutes to get seated but that was because we had a group of 14. Once seated our server Leslie was very attentive and got all of are oders right, glasses were never empty. The food was great my steak was perfect as was my wifes tilapia i tasted some ribs that my freind orderd and they were great, no one in our party had any complaints about our food. We try and visit the Sarasota area as much as we can and we will definatley go back to Geckos.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dalamo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best burgers in town!!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were running errands trying to decide on what to eat for lunch and my lady friend said Geckos burgers.When she is in town Geckos is a must stop for burgers specifically the Gecko Burger.The burger is toped with cheddar and chili with lettuce tomato and onion rings on top with a side of fries or home made chips. Guaranteed you won't be disappointed at Geckos all the food is awesome ......Enjoy

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, fl.
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Hillview location a favorite”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This place has had several names, but the Geckos has stuck in there. The area is very upscale, and the building is superbly decorated. We usually come with our little dog, so we sit on their very nice patio. We are also kind of stuck on ordering one of their happy hour (2 for 1) margaritas (yummy) and their hose made blue cheese potato chip appetizer, so I can't comment on the rest of their food, but I haven't been dissapointed. Very competent, friendly staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gecko's Grill & Pub also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gecko's Grill & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing