We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save your Time and Money”

Captain Curt's Crab & Oyster Bar
Ranked #41 of 1,038 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
NEW WINDSOR
Level 6 Contributor
486 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Save your Time and Money”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

There was little good to say about the meals we were seved here. Oh there was a parking space. Try someplace else for chowder or fish...Unless you like everything fried solid

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMES L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    756
    665
    335
    95
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The highly touted clam chowder was good, and my husband liked his trigger fish, which he said was not only tasty but abundant. The fried oysters were awful, though--mostly breading, and the rest of the meal was so-so. The server was pleasant but not very skillful. Keep your expectations modest if you dine here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haleyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fried Food”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

If you like fried food from the freezer go for it. Me, I like fresh seafood which this place DOES NOT have except there clam chowder. Horrible food but nice atmosphere especially if you're a Buckeye from Ohio State. If you're not from there you are more likely unwelcomed. Bartenders are horrible and treat you like you're a disease. If you don't mind horrible food, jerk bartenders, and smelly bathrooms they do have a lot of TV's. Think I'll stay home next time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Captain Curt's has the greatest clam chowder that I have tasted. It is a wonderful start to a meal. The seafood is fresh and the servers have the attitudes. Every time we visit Siesta Key, Captain Curt's is on our agenda.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not so hot fried food”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The karaoke on Thurs, Fri and Sat was the best part of the few trips taken to Curts. Fried food was none too persuasive. Drinks were merely passable. Beer was off-tasting.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoingtoSiestaKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Curt's Crab & Oyster Bar also viewed

 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Captain Curt's Crab & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing