We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They dressed up the statues for Halloween !”
Review of St. Armands Circle

St. Armands Circle
Ranked #1 of 69 Shopping in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A unique island shopping experience with over 140 upscale shops, boutiques, art galleries and award winning restaurants set amidst lush tropical landscaping, antique statuary, courtyards and patios. Art festivals, classic car shows, family-friendly Halloween event and a spectacular holiday display add to the excitement.
Longboat Key, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“They dressed up the statues for Halloween !”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is always a great place to shop and people-watch. There's lots of boutiques and restaurants , ice-cream and coffee places with benches or chairs so you can see the world go by .

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank OMALILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,449
    1,259
    288
    64
    30
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, FL
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cute, fun, safe for kids”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I loved that I could walk around and shop and dine all in one place. So many nice choices! The kids skated around the circle in the evening, and we all felt very safe. Very nice and quiet!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dt2400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Funtastic!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I hate shopping - yet I could come to this area just for St. Armands Circle. I think the reason I hate shopping is because of the stale franchises in the malls. This place has cool little places with local flare and unique twists. My two favorite spots were Florida Olive Oil Company and Fantasea. The Florida Olive Oil shop has so many flavors of olive oils and balsamic vinegars that you can try in the store. I'm sure I could spend a lot more money there if I lived closer. The Fantasea store smells delightful from the minute you walk in and the merchandise is uniquely suited to giving a ocean flare to any room including a child's room. The options on places to eat are endless - I wish we had found this place before we chose to eat at Marina Jack. Considering that Sarasota as a whole has a much older feel to it's community and visitors this area had a vibrant, lively feel. Loved it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank flstorms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Get ready to walk a lot”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Full of shops and restaurants, it's a great place to spend a few hours. There are dozens of shops, mostly pretty $$$, and lots of restaurants. Be forewarned, parking is a nightmare! The entire area is very clean, and always very crowded. There seems to be no time that is better than another as far as the crowd is concerned. Lots of restaurants have outdoor seating, nice to sit and have a drink and people watch. The streets around St. Armand are narrow and curvy, and not at all like navigating a shopping mall parking lot. This is a place to come when you have a lot of time on your hands, but a nice place indeed.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank PILOT42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun window shopping”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a fantastic place for wandering through shops and past deli's. We have been many times, but honestly don't buy much. Many of the shops are overpriced any you can find the same thing in town for cheaper. If its is truly a unique shop it is likely high end and VERY pricey. There does not seem to be much of a middle ground here. Parking is hard and you have to rush or you will end up with a ticket. Honestly... I quit going because I find that the dots that they mark your tire with never seem to wash off and it makes me crazy to have spots on my tire.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank j2z2ec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Armands Circle also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to St. Armands Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing