We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food, fun atmosphere”

The Siesta Key Oyster Bar
Ranked #72 of 1,179 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Siesta Key Oyster Bar is THE Hot Spot in Siesta Key Village! Come in and join us for great food, fresh oysters, cold beer, live music, and tons of fun!Siesta Key Oyster Bar (or as the locals call it "SKOB") is the hangout with the laidback, beachy atmosphere that will get you right into the Island Spirit. When you're at SKOB you feel right at home, like you're hanging out with good friends on your back patio (although chances are the ceiling of your patio is not covered in dollar bills).One of the things that sets SKOB apart from the other bars in Siesta Key Village is that we have some of the best food on the Key.Join us for Crustacean Happy Hour, every day from 3-6.1/2 price Oysters and Crawfish
Reviewed August 3, 2018

The food was good, the drinks were yummy. I would've given the place five stars, but even months later the most memorable aspect of this place was a conversation between an employee and a drunk patron at the bar that was riddled with cursing. I say a curse word every now and then around my kiddos, so it wasn't that, it was how loud they were being. I could barely hear my husband across the table over them. Really made us eat and pay in a hurry. Honestly, otherwise it was a fun atmosphere, the staff was really great, I understand that one person was trying to have a fun convo with the guy at the bar, but it could've been dialed down. Next time we're in Siesta Key's we'll still go back.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maggiem361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, Owner at The Siesta Key Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

We're so glad that you enjoyed your experience overall but I am SO sorry that the language and poor judgement/manners negatively impacted your experience! Thank you for the review. I will share it with our staff so that we can learn and be reminded how important it is to dial it down and be professional and respectful with our actions and language. Thank you and we do hope to see you again for that 5-star experience :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 57 of 2,197 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

My HUGE family stopped in, we had Country the server who was absolutely phenomenal. Quick service, friendly atmosphere, we feel like he cared about our table and served all 17 of us with ease! Would definitely go back!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank loptien3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, Owner at The Siesta Key Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

We're so glad that you enjoyed your experience! Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018

My wife and I went today around 3.30pm for the advertised 50% discount on house oysters happy hour. The oysters were very poor quality.
We then asked if they could take a party of 17 at 7pm that evening for normal food and they said yes and gave us a number to call at 6,30pm. Between 6,30 and 6.50 we called the number which was not answered and a recorded message told us not to leave a message. At 7 pm we arrived at the restaurant to be told it would be at least an hour before they could take our party. We declined and complained that we had been told that 7pm would be okay. Complaint was met with a shrug of the shoulders. we went elsewhere.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, Owner at The Siesta Key Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Thank you for taking time to leave a review. While we don't take reservations, we do 30 minute call ahead seating, and I'm sorry to hear that didn't work out for you. I do hope you enjoyed your evening and that you give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018 via mobile

Stopped by for a few appetizers on a random Tuesday afternoon. We had the grouper bites, tuna tartare, and the wings. Everything was amazing. All were amazing. We will definitely be back next year when we come back to visit.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, Owner at The Siesta Key Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

We're so glad that you enjoyed your experience! Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018 via mobile

Always a fun place to go when visiting Siesta Key. Features live music and has plenty of tv’s. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Started with a cold beer - it was blazing hot outside! Had grouper bites for appetizer. Just so-so. However, the tuna BLT was beyond delicious! Would highly recommend!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank arenthc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, Owner at The Siesta Key Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Thank you for your business! We're glad we exceeded your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Siesta Key Oyster Bar also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Siesta Key Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing