We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service but even GREATER food”

Heinrich's German Grill
Ranked #26 of 1,038 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $27
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Open for Dinner: TUESDAY - SATURDAY 5:00-CLOSE . Serving traditional german home made food, fresh from scratch
Ellenton, Florida
1 review
“Great Service but even GREATER food”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I visited Heinrich's for the very first time and was so excited to find REAL German food. The only problem I had was trying to decide which entree to select. Having lived in Germany for several years I found the food to be authentic and oh so delicious. The portions were large, which meant we could continue to enjoy this food the next day at home(leftovers were great).. From the minute we entered until the time we left the service was outstanding. .There werre 5 in out party and every one enjoyed Heinrich's

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    64
    15
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely great home cooked German food.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

White borscht is best soup I've had and is a closely guarded recipe that Heinrich's wife won't reveal. Any of their slow cooked pork or beef specials always great. Terrific chicken livers but have to call a day in advance. Traditional German entrees and sides all good. Great beer selection. Good sign: basically same wait staff for years.-- George Langford, Bradenton FL

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wunderbar!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Local German place with great food and drink! The Schnitzel and potato pancakes were to die for! Want to go to Germany then go here!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pigsff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic food”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We went here on a Saturday night and the place was packed, luckily there was one table left but with Oktoberfest season coming you should get a reservation. The food was phenomenal. We had potato pancakes that were quite large. Three to a plate. We also had the schnitzel and sauerkraut which was awesome. I am German with a German cooking grandma and this was just like home. The staff was pleasant and we also ended the night with Black Forest cake. All four people in the party loved the food and service. I suggest you try it out! I would return here when I come to town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank debblabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wonderful place to experience a little German hospitality!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Heinrich makes you feel like you are having dinner in his home. The food and the atmosphere are amazing. I especially like the German videos he plays which creates a fun filled environment. The service is outstanding and the food is hand prepared. I would highly recommend this restaurant. The German beer is delicious! Especially their Octoberfest.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandyLynnChandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heinrich's German Grill also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Heinrich's German Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing