We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A+++++++ FOOD AND SERVICE.. #1”

Heinrich's German Grill
Ranked #33 of 1,029 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $27
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Open for Dinner: TUESDAY - SATURDAY 5:00-CLOSE . Serving traditional german home made food, fresh from scratch
Bradenton, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A+++++++ FOOD AND SERVICE.. #1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

A+++++++++++ foood and service...Its my #1 food.. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.. I would eat here over a franchise all day!!. im a picky person , There all great .. Thanks HENRICH'S GERMAN GRILL.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    64
    15
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Three Times in Three Weeks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I discovered Heinrich's Grill last year on the last night of our Florida vacation. So we only had one chance to savor the fine German food before heading home. But this year we were prepared to take full advantage of their offerings. We loved it so much that we went 3 times in 3 weeks! We travel a lot and wherever we go in the States we look for German Restaurants that can match the delights of German/Austrian food in the old countries. Well Folks, this is it! This is the best German/Austrian food that we have ever had in the States and the equivalent of an excellent restaurant meal in either country.

During our 3 visits, we sampled several of their starters and side dishes including liverwurst, brats, liverwurst on pancakes with onions (oooh oooh!), sauerkraut, red cabbage and spatzle. These dishes are handcrafted and homemade and all of them are delicious. They are not serving cut-up rolls of supermarket liverwurst. The red cabbage is the best we have ever had anywhere, bar none. They also have variations on some of these dishes like the homemade spatzle. My favorite is "Heinrich's Way", which is spatzle with melted cheese and bacon mixed in. Wow! This is some good stuff and very unique.

There are many standard entrees and special daily entrees to choose from. There are several versions of schnitzel including a roasted cheese-eggplant-grilled tomato, one smothered with cheese and peppers, one topped with mushroom gravy, and a Viennese style with sunny side up eggs on it, to mention just a few.

The sauerbraten is marinated for 7 days according to the menu and can be cut with a fork. From their nightly specials, I chose rouladen and loved it.

They also have a good selection of German beers and many wines to choose from.

If you can't make it back to the old country, or simply want to try German/Austrian food in order to sample what it should REALLY taste like, then Heinrich's is your place to go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DnAAlbany_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic German Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

What can I say other than Heinrich's German Grill had authentic and delicious German food. I use to live in Ramstein, Germany and the aromas and tastes of the Jagerschnitzel and potato pancakes literally brought me back to Germany. It's amazing how one moment, one bite can bring you back in time to not only reminisce about the experiences but also the food. The service was excellent and the owner even took the time to talk to the large party that was dining at Heinrich's to see how everything tasted and to get everyone's feedback. That says a lot about an owner and means they take pride in their food. Lastly, don't forget to try the Underberg! :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Babygirl3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

A little hard an the wallet but well worth it. Excellent food and atmosphere. Great service from a very knowledgeable staff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Something to enjoy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

A great dining experience. Real German food and fun. Oh don't forget the German beer and das boot! Would recommend to everyone.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 35KeithH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heinrich's German Grill also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Heinrich's German Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing