We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Acoustics need work” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Van Wezel Performing Arts Hall

Van Wezel Performing Arts Hall
Ranked #39 of 138 things to do in Sarasota
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The City of Sarasota's landmark Van Wezel Performing Arts Hall has been entertaining audiences with a variety of Broadway, orchestra, classical, music, dance, theater and comedy for more than 45 years.
Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Acoustics need work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have seen a couple of musicals here and I have not been impressed. They were decent, but not the quality expected of that venue.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Loriglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    67
    45
    16
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fun Time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went list night to the Van Wezel to see Pirate's of Penzance. It was the NYC Gilbert and Sullivan group touring and they were only playing one night. I've never gone to the Van Wezel before when we've visited Sarasota (we come at least once a year). I have to say we had a wonderful time.
I thought the acoustics were really good in the auditorium and the show wonderful. A nice new adventure for our trip!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Paid my last visit”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Went to Les Misberables last night. I have to say I have always found the fact that there is no centre access aisle odd, but people were still allowed to stumble in 40 minutes into the performance using cell phones as flashlights. I spent most of the first act bobbing up and down.
Please enact a strict "curtain up" policy!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank SWFLGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
222 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The Purple Building has its charm. The music is not bad either.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

A unique auditorium by the water, host to world class performances in the Sarasota area. Dinner is available on site which makes it convenient. A must see if you are in Sarasota.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tlc248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Van Wezel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Excellent venue for plays, concerts, the symphony - from any seat you have a fantastic view of the entertainment. Very well organized and the docents are more than helpful.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank deb l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Wezel Performing Arts Hall also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Van Wezel Performing Arts Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing