We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return Tower units tenth floor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Will return Tower units tenth floor”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

When we first arrived the forecast reported rain it did not rain once
And when it did five minutes
The actual resort was great sandy white beaches clean facility
The rooms do need a little updating but very acceptable

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharko1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    47
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
133
27
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington, dc
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We just returned from Sarasota Surf & Racket Club Saturday, Aug 6.
Our family of 2 grandparents, 2 parents & 2 small boys are from the mid-Atlantic seaboard and 2 years ago decided we had enough of the rough Atlantic surf - and began vacationing on the Gulf Coast. Now that we've discovered Siesta Key - there's no turning back!

About Siesta Key -
This is our 2nd time on the Gulf Coast - but our first time on Siesta Key. What a beautiful place! The Key has just the right combination of scenery, amenities and cute shops, but not too much commerciality. The shops and restaurants are there for you - but are not in your face or tawdry. Just as others have said, the sand - the beach, the water - are perfect - maybe the prettiest in the continental U.S.? (at least the prettiest I've seen). We drove around to the beautiful residential neighborhoods to have a look - lush tropical vegetation, hidden inlets and canals, we felt we were on a Carribean Island.

About the Sarasota Surf & Racket Club -
Perfect location. We went in the summer - their low season - so the beach was never crowded. Yet there were always just enough people around to make the experience seem joyful - We easily made friends with another couple with children. We were in Building W, which is close to the beach and the pools, but not one of the most expensive buildings. Our Lanai had a view of both pools and the beach. The service was excellent - yet unbotrusive.

One thing that was very useful to me - as someone else stated - you can view the units pictures to make your choice of condo. We choose one that was decorated to our taste - cool beach colors, not overly decorated, more of a beach cottage look. (Others seemed too opulent and stuffy for our taste - but that is why it is nice to be able to choose).

I do recommend having a car - otherwise you will feel stranded and miss out on a lot that the Key has to offer in the way of restaurants & ice cream, food shopping, scenery, even an afternoon visit to St. Armand's Circle.

We tended to use the pool in the morning - so the kids could practice learning to swim, then go to the beach in the late afternoon. In fact we liked to go out to the beach at about 4:00 - and stay till after sunset. (Yes - we still got plenty of suntan).

It's true the sunset is a big deal there - people set up their beach lounges to face the sunset. I don't agree with the gentleman that complained about being unable to do this. We had no problem staying until after sunset. Yes they did come around and collect the unused lounge chairs - that's their job and they want to finish their work day too! But no one bothered us or tried to get us to turn in our chairs. There were always plenty of people around after dark - even in the water.

Any comlaints? Well it is so miniscule that it is hardly worth it - but if I were designing the buildings I'd provide a balcony or screened in balcony. The completely enclosed "lanai" is really just an extension of your apartment with a bit of a view. However it doesn't give you an outdoor experience from your apt. unit. This is just my personal taste - but it would not keep me from returning. Everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flamencodancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,GA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

As a teenager, I first came with my immediate family. Over the years, our family of 5 grew to a group of 19 as of this year, including 4 generations. We rarely have anything less than a great time. There is mostly nothing to do (which is how we want it) on the property. Just total relaxation on crescent beach, with sand that feels like confectioners sugar on your feet; Sunset is the highlight. The beach used to be a great place to be in the evenings after sunset. Over the years, concern for the turtles have diminished that experience. There is no light, and the worse thing that has only been a problem the last 8 years or so, while everyone is out trying to enjoy sunset, workers are rapidly taking up all the lounges and chairs. Eventually they will ask you to GET UP, so they can have yours too. I don't know if this is a turtle thing or just to secure the chairs for the night, or both, but it is annoying. An average week's rental here is too high to tolerate this intrusion. There has to be a balance somewhere. Overall, Sarasota/Siesta key is a great place. Always worth the 500 mile drive from Atlanta. Great food and shopping too.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relaxedAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

This was our sixth year to stay at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, and we love it. The grounds and the beach are kept wonderfully clean by their amazing staff. We always stay in the Y building, and it is always fun to just look out at the beach and see families enjoying their stay. Kids at night are playing soccer, football or baseball on this pristine, white beach. Families are enjoying the grill and every night you can hear laughter and just happiness. The swimming pools are nice; especially the one close to the water. You can come right off the beach; shower off and enjoy the pool. Our unit is always clean and the front desk is polite and helpful. Our own children are high school age and above now, but they all still love coming to Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club.

Room Tip: For the summer, call the first week of January
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ESLTeacher89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

The best beach in the world is right outside you room. Paid $2400 for a ocean view 2 bedroom for week before Easter, worth every penny. Loads of great dining. Private beach with clean chairs waiting for you. Respectful kids on the beach. Hotel security always present. Nice beachside pool. Covered parking. 100% recommend!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liebzeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

My family and I have been staying at the Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club for over 10 years. We return year after year and always our experience there has been superb. We always stay on the first floor of the Y building, closest to the oceanfront pool. I love that you can choose the type of condo that suits you best just by looking at the pictures on their website. So you know exactly the type of unit you are getting. The beach in Siesta Key is like no other. Its the softest, white flour, that doesn't get hot or burn your feet. It does get very hot during the summer months when we usually stay for 2 wks in early August, but it is the SUMMER, so its expected. SSRC has two outdoor pools for the complex . Usually my only complaint is that the oceanfront pool could be kept a little cleaner, with more skimming, but that's about it. All in all, SSRC is a wonderful place for a vacation in Siesta Key. Complete relaxation. I look forward to our next vacation there this August with my family and parents.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fischerblvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Awesome condos .
Beautiful beach.
Perfect for families.
We have stayed 5 times going on 6.
Please don't tell anyone how wonderful this place is!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeLuvWaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
1.1 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,393 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
1.0 mi away
Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
690 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
1.8 mi away
Siesta Key Beach Side Villas
Siesta Key Beach Side Villas
#2 of 29 in Siesta Key
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club

Property: Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club
Address: 5900 Midnight Pass Rd, Sarasota, FL 34242-8708
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club delivers the best of all worlds: The newly renovated, privately owned vacation condominiums have full amenities and include resort-like accommodations. Our customer service & satisfaction tops the charts and differentiates us from the many other choices you have when deciding on a vacation rental. Conveniently located close to fine dining and shopping and within minutes of area attractions, this is a perfect year-round island destination for travelers, active seniors, couples, families, or honeymooners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Surf And Racquet Club Hotel Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing