We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Florida” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Myakka River State Park

Myakka River State Park
Ranked #6 of 138 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the original Civilian Conservation Corps parks.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
157 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Real Florida”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Take a hike or paddle a canoe in this wonderful true Florida environment. There are boat rides, boat rentals and excellent trails.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Florida_Pat2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,381
    744
    143
    32
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Day tour at Myakka River State Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Beautiful park, look forward to returning again in 2014. Although it was a bit cool, we did the air boat ride and saw many gators and birds. After the boat ride, we walked around and saw many more gators and birds. One gator was trying to sneak up on the birds, but they were too quick for that gator. Staff was friendly and very informative.
Missed the nature centre on the way in, and had trouble finding it on the way out.
Lots more gators near the bridge on the way out. Great day at the park!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KBinNS19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great airboat ride,wonderful pk.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

following my review on the airboat ride during sept2012,i feel I must submit a further review on my visit during sept 2013.the airboat ride was great this time we saw several alligators close up,and many birds.the narrator and cpt of the boat did an excellent job pointing out the wildlife and slowing down for us to photograph the gators,he had a great knowledge of the wildlife and the surrounding environment,we have visited Myakka on numerous occasions when visiting Sarasota,and will continue to come to this magnificent park.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank nigel317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Experience "True" Florida at Myakka!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Our first stop on a one-day trip to the central west coast of Florida was the Myakka River State Park, one of Florida’s oldest and largest state parks. Myakka is popular for hiking, fishing, camping, wildlife observation and there are many activities to participate in while at this scenic park, such as kayaking, canoeing or biking (all available to rent within the park), going on an airboat tour, and having a good ol’ fashioned picnic. One of the neatest attractions at Myakka is their Canopy Walkway. To get there, find the Boylston Nature Trail and take the Spur Trail loop. The entire loop only takes about 30-40 minutes to walk. The wooden walkway, suspended 25 feet above the ground, extends 100 feet through the hammock canopy. What an awesome feeling to be able to walk among the treetops! There is also a tower connected to the walkway that rises 74 feet in the air to present visitors with spectacular views of treetops, wetlands and soaring birds of prey. This is an incredible way to experience “real’ Florida! We chose not to do any hikes that day, as you can probably imagine, Florida in the summertime is extremely hot and muggy! Pretty much any other season would be a great time to really get out and explore everything Myakka has to offer! So instead, we settled on a scenic drive through the park. There is a designated 7-mile drive that winds through shady oak-palm hammocks and along the shore of the Upper Myakka Lake. If you were hoping to see some gators during your trip to Florida, this is the place to be! Alligators are plentiful here! During our quick drive through we only spotted a few baby gators, but didn’t hang around long enough to see if momma was close by! We also came across a family of deer feeding among the trees on our scenic drive. All-in-all, a very beautiful, peaceful and relaxing trip to Myakka!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelBuggy0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Much better than i remembered.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I used my state park pass to get in. I immediately went to the air boat and got right on at 10am. It was a very nice hour cruise with a funny captain. After, i got gator stew at the new expanded gift shop and cafe. Excellent food, couldnt eat all the stew and salad had fresh graded parmesian cheese. Yum! After, i biked the whole park and saw deer, etc. i went up the Canopy Tower and walkway and its quite a view! It was muddy on the trails and i didnt get to the nature center. I was told to keep my boat ticket for a half off cruise next time. I will definately be back to do the trails and air boat ride!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JEATON2442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Myakka River State Park also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Myakka River State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing