We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful park!!! Many gators!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Myakka River State Park

Myakka River State Park
Ranked #6 of 138 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the original Civilian Conservation Corps parks.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
334 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Beautiful park!!! Many gators!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We've been here twice, once in April and then now in september. Conclusion: spring is the better gator season. There is so much water the gator has more space to disappear. In april we saw so many fat gators laying in the grass. This was AWESOME. Today we saw a couple of them mostlt in the water head above the water, but they dive down when you get closer. It was nice, but not comparable with spring time. We rented a canoe, you should do that. It is so scenic, the clouds in the water, potentially very beautiful pictures that you can make. There is so much more to do, bike rental, trails, airboat .. it is worth it!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KKBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,381
    744
    143
    32
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Douglasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is great for going on tours and taking long nature walks and you might get lucky and see a alligator or two

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Getcha gator”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

You know you want to see a gator. Respect them and see them in the water on warm days. They are not always there but often. Even if you can't see them when you visit it is a lovely place to drive through and also take walks. The suspended bridge is cool as well as the bird walkway.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank towardtheONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa,Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun day outdoors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

My family and I visited a few weekends ago, we had a nice time, the kids loved seeing the alligators but the highlight was stomping in the mud to the canopy bridge! They didn't want to leave. A great place to enjoy nature and keep little boys entertained :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank triniluv09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed overnight in one of the cabins - uncomfortable beds, but that goes with the territory I suppose. So much wildlife in the evening, at night and in the early morning made it all worthwhile - really worth it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Myakka River State Park also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Myakka River State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing