We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nature in Florida as it has always been!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Myakka River State Park

Myakka River State Park
Ranked #6 of 138 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the original Civilian Conservation Corps parks.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nature in Florida as it has always been!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

You will a car or other transport to get around the huge area that the park takes up but it is worth driving around and taking in the beauty of this very special place! Bird lovers will be in their element and if you like to hike, then walk a trail and see the real Florida! Make sure you bring a picnic and plenty of fluids to make sure you enjoy a full day here!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank drawn4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,381
    744
    143
    32
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I love to go here and enjoy the day. As many times as I have been here I always ride the air boat and tram rides because it is never the same each time I do it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Must See in SW Florida”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

People from all over the world visit Myakka, and for good reason. It's a beautiful plunge into native Florida, and well worth the lovely drive out there. Plenty of provisions are out there in the new cafe, with an experience for every level of adventurer. Ride a bike or canoe, or take a ride on the tram or air boat. We have returned so many times over the years. Bring your camera! Lots of wildlife in the early morning or evening.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gropius12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful park with hike & bike areas, kayaking and canoeing, and lots of Florida wildlife!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

A beautiful park! We rode our bikes on the paved areas for about 90 minutes, then went on a sandy trail under the trees. We saw lots of wildlife, including alligators, armadillos, feral pigs and many types of birds. They offer camping and canoe rentals, too.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gators”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

I recommend this to everyone I meet that likes the outdoors or wants to know about Florida. Being above the treetops to amazing! I have been several times and each time I am impressed with the park and the view. Lots of fun!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Boop34293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Myakka River State Park also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Myakka River State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing