We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Well Worth the Trip-Advisor-y” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marie Selby Botanical Gardens

Marie Selby Botanical Gardens
Ranked #2 of 133 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A sprawling botanical garden.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Trip-Advisor-y”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

I can only praise the staff at Marie Selby Gardens for all the work they spend making the venue a trip to paradise every time we've visited. This last time was like a scene out of a movie where a shopper stole the prize specimen we had spotted but foiled in front of our eyes. Before we made it back to the plant store to purchase the lone Darth Vader bromeliad after touring the gardens, an elderly woman shopper snatched the plant, paid for it, and departed while we stood with open mouth. Fortunately, their inventory buyer was able to find TWO more which I returned to purchase. For others who visit, keep in mind they have a customer purchases storage place to buy things before visiting the gardens. Ironically, we were able to get two instead of just the lone Darth Vader so our garden is blessed with two liberated specimen instead of just one!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FrankGould407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,890 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,406
    382
    75
    17
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If you love gardening you will not want to miss this tranquil place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

We went to a special evening opening and enjoyed it thoroughly.
Plenty of different plants to make you jealous you don't live in a sub tropical area. Lots of places to sit on benches to just watch the lizards and birds in their natural habitat. We even saw an owl. Lots of photo ops. We missed the orchids cut to the special timed event, ( buildings closed for after hours) but I still wouldn't have missed going.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank memedebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
317 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

My brother and I spent an afternoon here. Neither of us are into plants or gardening, but we both enjoyed it very much. I especially loved all the orchids. The place is immaculate, staff answered questions and it was a gorgeous facility. I will definitely be back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stcloudmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We were just driving down the street and the sign grabbed our attention. A little pricey but the obviously spend the money wisely.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mlvh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A Unique Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

If you travel to Sarasota make sure you visit Selby Gardens. There are so many unique and interesting plants. Some of the best I have ever seen. You can take a quick stroll or a peaceful walk. I know you will enjoy the trees with the thorny trunks and the wide variety of exotic orchids.

Helpful?
2 Thank pa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marie Selby Botanical Gardens also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Marie Selby Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing