We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and Beautiful”

Marie Selby Botanical Gardens
Ranked #2 of 141 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A sprawling botanical garden.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised at just how much I enjoyed walking the grounds and seeing the incredible variety of plants and trees. The seating area by the water was a perfect area for relaxing. The tour guide was impressively knowledgeable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,619
    425
    83
    19
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
894 reviews
453 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 544 helpful votes
“ANOTHER VISIT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a great place to spend a few hours in peace and tranquility. During this visit we encountered a mother duck and her chicks which were extremely tame (but not to be fed!) and a bird of prey sitting in a tree oblivious to the smaller birds trying to scare it away.

The Orchids in the conservatory are absolutely fantastic and a lot of work is put into rotating the plants - I believe there are only 35 employees but hundreds of volunteers who give of their time and knowledge to answer visitor questions and help make the best of your visit. A new attraction for children is due to open later in the year (Rainforest Garden) but there's a lot of work to be done if it's to open on schedule. I think this is a good idea as it'll encourage a younger generation to the gardens - us older fogies won't be around forever!

Should also point out the tea/coffee shop next to the mansion selling loose leaf teas (plus free tastings) which is surprisingly popular (separate from the main cafe).

Two minor issues:

1. It was quite hot during our visit and guess it might be unbearable during July/August - even with the coastal breeze..
2. Sad to see signs requesting visitors to refrain from writing graffiti in the bamboo stems and sure enough there was evidence imbeciles had been at work on those located near the boardwalk area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank nnmercman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

These are beautiful gardens with many interesting species. Walking is mostly shaded and some parts are indoors. We missed part of the gardens just because we didn't pay attention to our map or ask, but even still, this is not an attraction to be missed.all the volunteers are awesome and are just dying to answer any questions.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1molly1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“BB (best beautiful) Gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

When we step on the entrance garden I think we will get bore and only spend 1 hour inside but I was wrong completely the garden is beautiful, clean, many wonderful view you can enjoyed it . I love the koi pond I was found 5 baby duck with their mother . We spent more than 3 hours without we realize the park almost closed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic Gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We have been coming to Siesta Key for 5 years and this was our first visit to the gardens. I wish we would have been here sooner. This place is amazing and the history behind this place is so interesting. The gardens have over 600 volunteers and a full staff of caretakers too. The view of the bay is breath taking. I was there during the juried photography showing and purchased the "2nd place" winner's photo of the snowy egrets and was so pleased that they were able to ship it for me and the photographer was awesome to work with. Please don't miss a chance to visit this garden. Every kind of palm tree and orchid imaginable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Misha00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marie Selby Botanical Gardens also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Marie Selby Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing