We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene Afternoon on Sarasota Bay”

Marie Selby Botanical Gardens
Ranked #2 of 141 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A sprawling botanical garden.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Serene Afternoon on Sarasota Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Went to Selby Gardens with my 13 month old daughter and my parents. Our mission for the day was to take as many photographs of my daughter as possible. Selby Gardens provided the perfect background for our photo shoot. It takes about an hour+ to walk the path. If you want to extend your trip, you could spend time relaxing at the various follies like the cafe, the gazebo, tea room, or on the dock at the bay. I thought the admission price was a little high given the experience and I had no luck finding coupons online. I hear the Gardens are incredibly decorated during the holidays, so we'll be back. I would suggest you dress in your Sunday-best and fully optimize the photographic opportunities the Garden has to offer.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank melmo152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,619
    425
    83
    19
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
234 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Manicured gardens - View of the Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We visited several gardens on our recent trip to Florida and this stands out as one of the best. Gardens are usually either large or small and well maintained or somewhat maintained. Selby is manicured and has some unique features: excellent view of the bay, view of large homes on a canal, tea tasting room, and a plant shop that is screened in. You can go inside Marie's house and see a short movie in the visitor center before you start walking around the gardens. A new children's garden is under construction. This is located only a few miles from Ringling Museum and St Armands circle with its shops and restaurants. This is not to be missed. We were able to see this garden in the morning and Ringling in the afternoon.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

A beautiful experience. The gardens are beautiful and it was very interesting to see the large variety of plants that grow in Florida compared to our homeland of Canada. It was very easy to walk through and wheelchair accessible. There is a large focus on epiphytes which we
found very interesting. A beautiful view of the bay. Don't forget your camera.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank landroverOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“World-renowned Botanical Gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

From the greenhouse filled with exotic species, to the grounds filled with delights such as a koi pond, bamboo forest, a cactus garden, a raised walkway into a canopy of leaves and enormous Banyan and fig trees - Selby Gardens offers a unique and wondrous perspective to visitors - and all with beautiful views of Sarasota Bay.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, FL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Garden Oasis in Sarasota”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

very walkable gardens, smooth paths that lead you around the complex to the different types of gardens and displays with a beautiful view of bay. Great wedding venue. Handicap accessible.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joannr1636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marie Selby Botanical Gardens also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Marie Selby Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing