We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great way to spend an afternoon”

Marie Selby Botanical Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Sarasota Bayfront Kayaking with Optional Selby Garden Tour
Ranked #2 of 141 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A sprawling botanical garden.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Great way to spend an afternoon”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

What a charming and lovely spot of quiet and tranquility. The free docent trip was a very informative. It is the perfect place to spend a couple hours touring or just sitting quietly. Truly worth the price of admission.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank gail w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,658
    433
    86
    19
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parrish, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“An outdoor gem by the sea”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

If you love plants and a relaxing walk, do take time to enjoy this magnificent botanical gardens. There is such an extensive variety of things to see it is impossible to put it all in one review! I especially enjoyed the bonsai displays. A gentleman who took care of them was there the day I went for any in depth questions. Walking through tall bamboos and mangroves takes you out of the press of the city and lets you feel you are in a retreat. Families can have a snack on the lawn and there is a tea shop to get a tasty cuppa. If you are on vacation, don't miss this. If you live close by, make this a regular place to stop and relax and enjoy nature's beauty.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jazzyjava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester, massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice place for a relaxing walk”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I recently visited with a friend who is an avid gardener and orchid enthusiast. She enjoyed the gardens themselves while I enjoyed the walk and the plants and the views of the bay. The walking brochure is very well marked and explanations are helpful.

We looked at almost everything and still only visited for about 1 1/2 hours. My only complaint is that the place seems a bit pricey for its size.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank tchs_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland
Level Contributor
253 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“A special garden experience”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had thought we might get to the Selby, then seemed not to have a time. After a friend inquired repeatedly whether we would get there, we decided to head to Sarasota on this our last day of vacation. Boy, was that the right choice.

The Selby is a small space but intensive experience. A short film--just a few minutes--gives a helpful introduction to the Garden, its history and its focus. A well-designed map ensures that you see everything you want to see. Art exhibitions offer an extra something special.

And it was so PEACEFUL. The Garden is wedged into a relatively busy residential neighborhood with a fair amount of street traffic, yet it is quiet, idyllic. There was plenty of parking--but when you arrive, go ALL the way to the end of the street to see if there is space in the lot there before turning into one of the other lots. Play with the koi in the koi poind--and get koi food at the cafe, because the koi are enthusiastic feeders. They are huge and perfectly willing to let you stroke them. I love patting the koi... There are benches everywhere, places to sit, look out over the water, rest in the shade of mangrove, banyan and live oaks. It is just a wonderful place.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lnwyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
2 reviews
“Peace, Tranquility, and Beauty”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Selby Garden is a wonderful place to escape the hubbub of real life. There is a such a wide variety of plants, and beautiful views of the Sarasota Bay. The garden specializes in epiphytes, so you will find an amazing array of orchids, bromeliads, and air plants.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marie Selby Botanical Gardens also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Marie Selby Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing