We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace, beauty, and Education” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marie Selby Botanical Gardens

Marie Selby Botanical Gardens
Ranked #2 of 138 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A sprawling botanical garden.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
379 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Peace, beauty, and Education”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

The amazing assortment of plants, trees, and flowers. Do take your allergy pill before you go, but the day will truly be enlightening trip into the rich vegetation and agriculture of this region of Florida. Beautiful, peaceful and educational.

Helpful?
Thank scbleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,557
    410
    81
    18
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
Level Contributor
381 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“A Must See !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Been in Sarasota for 14 years and had never visited Selby Gardens until 1/26/2012 at the advice of friends. Weather was 80 degrees on January 26. Selby was full of people, which is surprising. Terrific gardens and great views of Sarasota Bay.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank HCLBRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

they have a hot house with epiphytes of all kinds and orchards and bromeliads. The grounds have all kinds of exotic trees. Great place to spend hours walking around

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank cslebl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
161 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Beautiful, exotic plants in well maintained, educational, compact grounds.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

On a Wednesday afternoon, we decided to spend some time at the Selby Gardens. The grounds were much smaller than what I expected but if you have mobility issues that’s a major plus. We saw the entire grounds in ~ 1 hr. (no mobility issues). They are very beautiful as well as educational. It’s located on the coast but the views at the coast are of residential areas and the neighboring cities; not very scenic per se. A volunteer explained the entire grounds to us before we entered; I found that very helpful and much appreciated. There’s also a 4 min video on a continuous loop explaining the Gardens and its history; worth the time. Most of the plants are not native to FL but there is a small section of native species. I found the native section fascinating to see what FL looked like when the Spanish landed. I appreciated the educational plaques along the way and the numbered map and exhibits. At the end there is a tea house converted from the old carriage house and the aroma of brewing tea hooked me in! They had 3 samples available and they were all excellent. So I ended up spending $45 on tea and accessories! There’s also the original, very modest Selby residence on site that has been converted into a café with food, drink & gift shop though we did not stop in. All the staff and numerous volunteers were cheerful, talkative and helpful. Everyone seemed to genuinely want to be there; how refreshing!

I thought $17 is a bit much but the grounds are immaculately maintained and beautiful. I don’t think I’d go back again but I think it is worth a visit, especially if you appreciate exotic plant life.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank ttiottn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, FL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Bring BIG bucks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

This is a beautiful place but extremely expensive.
I came with a friend. Entrance for the two of us was $34.00, no senior rates. We made the mistake of eating a salad at the cafe. A small plastic cup of salad & tea was almost $10.00 per person! With over 700 volunteers at this place (quoted from a volunteer), you'd think the visitors would get a break. The fees & prices brought my 5 stars down to 3. Monitors are sitting everywhere watching your every move; no doubt because of the numerous carvings on the Bamboo trees and Sea Grape leaves. One could feel their eyes watching you over their books. The Orchid display was a bit disappointing but enjoyed the Bromeliads. If you want to see beautiful Orchids, step into the flower shop sales area next to the gift shop. Unfortunately, the whole place is very commercialized. A family of four with two children over 11 will cost $68.00 to see the place. I will caution others about the sticker shock!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BurgieBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marie Selby Botanical Gardens also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Marie Selby Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing