We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good burger”

Shakespeares Craft Beer and Gastro Pub
Ranked #206 of 1,038 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: A Craft Beer and Gastro Pub with an English flair. Popular with locals and visitor alike for over 11years
Venice, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good burger”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My friends invited me to this establishment and they had told me that they served a good burger. They were right. They have a wide variety of burgers.I had the burger with carmalized onions and brie cheese, delicious. My friend had the Briish burger and he raved about it. Friendly waitress...place is a little too dark inside as the try to emulate a real British pub. Worth trying.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    45
    13
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Siesta Key, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, so so food”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

It pains me to write this review, because I love this place, however for a place that is known for their burgers it really is so so!!! Meat is low quality and dry, and they use no condiments whatsoever. I really usually skip this place for burgers. Service can be a little slow at times for no reason. Last time I had to walk in twice to ask for drinks and napkins and they were all out of pickles, which is a wonder when there is a huge Publix supermarket across the street. Their version of Shepherds Pie is good and it is the only thing I would stick to in their menu.

Having said that I really like their atmosphere although service is slow they are a great bunch. Great beer selection.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Food and Great Beers”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is one of the best restaurants in Sarasota, it's only a little British pub but the the food is all homecooked and always really good, there burgers have been voted best on the West coast for good reason as they are to die for also their fish & chips and homemade soups and specials are all ways really good, the service is great and the beer selection outstanding with 24 different draft beers and many bottle beers from around the world. The ambience is dim and cosy at night and they serve food later than most Sarasota restaurnats so if you are looking for good food and beer and a reasonable price this is definately the place to go

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Funforsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Finally found a good burger in the area!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Burgers are very tasty. Could live without the rosemary bun, overpowers the burger taste a bit. Wish they had another selection for buns. Great selection of beer. Fun atmosphere. Definitely going again for another burger and beer.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cologal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I took three guest who wanted to sample English food, what better place than Shakespears. I had spicy beef pasties they all had fish and chips. All the food was excellent and the service was excellent too, I have forgotten the servers name, but she was wonderful. Anyone who wants great English food and good beer, get yourselves round to Shakespears.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shakespeares Craft Beer and Gastro Pub also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Shakespeares Craft Beer and Gastro Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing