We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back”
Review of WaterColor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
WaterColor Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a wonderful place for families to visit. We rented a two-bedroom condominium on the hotel website. We were pleased with its location – across from the main pool. Two bikes came with our condominium – but we easily rented more for additional family members. This is a huge complex and so there are many places to ride your bike and several pools to use. Every evening we rode our bikes into the town of Seaside and enjoyed buying our dinners from the cute food trucks that line the main street. There aren't as many dining options as you would think there should be on this property – but the main restaurant was very good when we dined there on several different occasions. There is the DVD library in the main hotel. That night we sometimes rented movies to watch before going to bed. The beach is just beautiful – we rented our chairs ahead of time so there was no need to rush down at 7 o'clock in the morning to get chairs. The main pool is nice – plenty of chairs to sit and there were also chairs near the pool that faced the ocean. Vince Vaughn and Reese Witherspoon were guests there while we were visiting – apparently celebrities discovered this place long before I did. Thank you to my brother who recommended the place!

Room Tip: Stay near the main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1travelerof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 497 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed at the Watercolor Inn for 5 nights for our family vacation. Our room was on the 4th floor with a nice ocean view (king bed, pull out couch, balcony, refrigerator, nice big bathroom, DVD player). We definitely enjoyed our stay and would come back again if it is just my husband,myself, and our child. If we had a big group, I would definitely opt for the vacation home rentals.

Watercolor Inn Pros:
- It is nice to be so close to the beach. You can walk over the pier and be back at your room quickly. The beaches are beautiful!!!
- Great balcony to relax on with beautiful views.
- Watercolor Kid's Camp is AMAZING! It is well worth the $55 a day from 9am to 1pm with lunch included. Just know that the camp is off site so you will have to drive or ride bikes over there.
- The staff is very friendly and tries to remember your name! They are also very kid focused!
- The Fish Out of Water Restaurant is really good ... fresh and flavorful. The patio area is really nice to relax on.

Watercolor Inn Cons:
- The valet and bell stand may not be up and running as you expect (ie - takes a while for them to pull your car, you request bikes 30 minutes ahead and they may not be pulled for you, you may have to get your own cart).
- Room service menu is limited. We ended up staying in most evenings as we were all beat from the sun. Kid's menu is fine, but the appetizers and entrees for adults are limited.
- Make your beach chair reservations as early as you can (they except reservations up to one year in advance). I made mine 6 weeks in advance and we were far from the Beach Club.
- There is no service on the beach. It would be nice if food and beverage service was available.
- Limited television channels.

The community where Watercolor is located, Seaside, is ADORABLE! Lots of cute shops and cafes. Great place to ride or walk to!

Room Tip: 4th floor, ocean view ... the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

If you are looking for a first class getaway and or stay in the area, do not miss the opportunity to stay here. Everything about the facility and staff and amenities are first class, no exceptions. Did I mention First Class?

Room Tip: 3rd floor to insure a great gulf view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great place for a family vacation. Once again we had a fabulous time riding bikes, visiting all the pools, the Beach Club and the beautiful beach. We rent a different vacation home each year and they are all fabulous.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Watercolor Inn and Resort is one of the best places for a beach vacation whether it be with the entire family or just as a couple. Really terrific beaches and no need for a car. Biking is the preferred mode of transportation. Lots of activities for everyone. Just a fabulous place.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have personal outside showers and direct access from room to beach. Higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a vacation at the Watercolor Inn. It was our first time here and we will definitely be back. The staff are very friendly and many of them remember your name and actually speak to you, everyone was very service oriented. It was a very nice resort, we stayed on the fourth floor beachfront, the room was very nice and clean. We enjoyed riding the bikes around because traffic in the area was very congested and it was hard to find a parking place in our vehicle, but easy to park the bikes. The turn down service in the evening was a really nice touch. Only complaint about the area was we wished there would have been a better nightlife.

Room Tip: In order to see over the sand dunes, you will need to be on the 3rd or 4th floor. Rooms with a lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Nice room, great view and excellent service from the moment we arrived. The adult pool was a great place to wind down from a stressful day of napping in my beach chair. Room service was quick and the service was great. The bikes were great too. I usually don't complain about anything but.... The coffee is horrible. Worst I have ever had. Resort wide. Awful.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank jmtims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa Beach
8.2 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosemary Beach
371 reviews
7.7 mi away
30A Suites
30A Suites
#1 of 1 in Santa Rosa Beach
87 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
11.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
11.7 mi away
Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WaterColor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WaterColor Inn

Address: 34 Golden Rod Cir, Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459-5979
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Santa Rosa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Rosa Beach
Price Range: $268 - $687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — WaterColor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WaterColor Inn, nestled on nearly 500 acres of sugar-white sand beach, is surrounded by 1,400 linear feet of beachfront and pine forests alongside Western Lake, the state’s second-largest naturally occurring coastal dune lake. The 60-room Inn offers deluxe accommodations designed by David Rockwell, each overlooking the Gulf of Mexico and donning a pair of Adirondack chairs on the patio (and on the first floor, a private outdoor cabana shower). Perfectly encapsulating the spirit of an intimate beach getaway—while providing the functionality necessary for a family vacation—the freshly redecorated beachfront rooms bring the outdoors in, mere footsteps from the sand. From the soft linens to the spa-inspired toiletries, every well-appointed room offers a relaxing and comfortable seaside oasis. Owned by St. Joe Club & Resorts, this distinctive hotel property affords guests access to a bevy of the private membership club’s amenities. These include private golf and beach club access; complimentary bicycle use; kayak, canoe, pontoon boat, and discounted YOLO board rentals; and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your WaterColor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watercolor Hotel Santa Rosa Beach
Water Color Hotel
WaterColor Inn Florida/Santa Rosa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing