We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent leisure or business property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of WaterColor Inn and Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
WaterColor Inn and Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent leisure or business property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Recently held a Board of Directors meeting at this property and had a wonderful experience. The resort is absolutely beautiful and offers many amenities to guests, including private beach, walking trails, free bike/canoe/kayak rentals, onsite library, excellent restaurants. Though it seems like a luxurious vacation spot (and it is), it is also an excellent location for business meetings. The convention and banquet staff took such good care of our group and made everyone feel like VIPs. They went above and beyond to accommodate every request. The property offered an excellent mix of professional meeting venues and relaxing surroundings. You can't beat the beautiful beaches of the panhandle, and this area in particular is a well-kept secret!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Guest Services at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are glad that you group enjoyed the great meeting facilities and amenities available to our guests. We look forward to you returning with your group for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    93
    39
    28
    16
See reviews for
160
184
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

My son and I stayed here for a long weekend in October. The Inn is located in a great location on the panhandle with lots of activities and good restaurants nearby. And the beach is amazing. However for the price I found the hotel not to be up to the standard that I would expect. The price of the Inn is on par with luxury hotels such as a Ritz or Four Seasons; but the service is not. The hotel hires local staff (vs a Ritz or Four Seasons who hires professionals from throughout the world) and fails to train them properly. It was the norm that there was no one at the front desk or at the bell stand when we went to these locations. Seemed as if we were always waiting for someone to show up.

The hotel advertizes that it provides cookies prior to bed time which my son was looking forward to-- however, there weren't any the first night (when I inquired, I was told that they ran out and would give us extra the next evening) and on the second evening housekeeping did not show up until we were already in bed (and did give us a one cookie-- no extras) even though I requested turn down service 4 hours prior.

The hotel provides you with bikes during your stay (there is a $30 daily resort fee) which is wonderful as it is a great area to explore via bike. The pool for children is located at the beach club which is next to the hotel (this is also where you must go to obtain towels for the pool and beach).

Bottom line is that the hotel is nice but the service should have been great for $400 a night off season (and this is for the least expensive rooms on the first floor)!

Room Tip: We stayed in the least expensive room which is on the first floor. There is not a view from this ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanneba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Guest Services at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of our resort. We do thank you for your business and offer our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. Our resort staff strives to provide memorable service and anticipate our guest’s needs, and when we hear comments like yours we are disappointed that we have not succeeded. Your comments are helpful to us as we strive to improve in the future. We do hope that you would return at some point in the future to give us a second chance to earn your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Granted they have a fantastic spot on North America's best beach, and the Inn itself is charmingly appointed. But I'm sorry $500 a night for a bed and no breakfast, no wifi, and no beach chairs is just too steep for my tastes. Everything is a la carte at the Watercolor Inn...there are any number of fantastic places to stay, don't waste your money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Guest Services at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry that you feel that your stay did not have enough ‘value’ and appreciate your comments to help us improve. While it is true that breakfast is not included in the price of your room, there are many amenities that are such as bicycles, the fitness center, canoes, kayaks, pool towels, valet service, and access to three golf courses. We also offer packages that can be tailored to fit your vacation needs such as the beach package that includes beach chairs or the dining packages that do include breakfast. Again, thank you for your comments and we hope that you would choose to return to our resort in the future, as we are expanding and will be offering more amenities that increase the value of a vacation at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Rented a house through WaterColor Inn and Resort within Blocks of the beachclub in Santa Rosa Beach, FL back in mid-September for a friend's destination wedding. What an absolutely amazing place! Top notch amenities, beautiful & controlled access to the beach club pool overlooking the white sand beach and crystal clear water. This was my first time to the panhandle of Florida, and now i cannot wait to go back! We drove up and down the beachfront and visited Destin and Alys Beach as well and Watercolor was the best by far.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Walker G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Guest Services at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. We agree that the panhandle is a beautiful location. We are happy that you had a great weekend and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prattville, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great place to just get away for a few days. Beautiful beach that definitely lives up to the name, Watercolors. Wonderful relaxed atmosphere, super comfortable rooms, great service, nice spa in hotel. I especially loved the library in the reception area! Hotel restaurant is good and there are other very good restaurants in the area. Lots of outdoor activities available. Fun shopping area nearby within walking distance. Plan to come back as often as we can!

Room Tip: View of ocean is best on second or third floors with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Guest Services at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for a great review. We are delighted that you had a great time and we would be happy to assist you with your return reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

I have been staying at the Watercolor Inn since it first opened. I have slowly seen change but Oct. 2013 has taken quite a turn. For $500 a night, I expect exceptional service and amazing amenities. The staff were pleasant but if I needed anything, I felt like I was being a burden. There is not much included with your stay. On top of your hotel fee, you are required to pay a $30 resort fee for your amenities. I was excited to rent a yolo board or kayak on the beach but these items are not included in the resort fee. You must drive to the boat house and kayaks are available there. The biggest disappointment was the absence of the hot tub. They got rid of this amenity last year due to a leak. A leak I understand but invest in your customers and rebuild. The pools are not even heated!

I am extremely disappointed with the Watercolor Inn. Unless they invest in their customers I will not be returning!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Guest Services at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry that you did not have the experience you hoped for. Our staff strives to provide a memorable guest experience and we are disappointed when we fail to meet our guest’s expectations. Your comments are helpful to us so we can improve service and value. We hope that you would choose to return to our resort in the future, as we are expanding and will soon be offering more amenities at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent two nights at this beautiful resort in the pan handle of Florida the first weekend in October 2013 . The staff, amenities, views, restaurants, beaches, weather -everything was simply amazing! We booked the recumbence suite on the 4th floor. It is pricey but we were there during the high season ( 1st two weeks of October is fall break for the Souther State High Schools)From our deck we joyed the most beautiful sunsets I have ever seen. The rooms are well appointed, with luxury toiletries and very comfortable bedding. The in room coffee server is a plus! Chairs and umbrellas are available and set up for a nominal fee. The weather was perfect and the bar service at the pool was great. We had dinner at the on site restaurant, Fish out of Water. The staff was informed it was my birthday and provided us with a lovely dinning experience and surprise birthday dessert. As guests of the Inn we enjoyed the complimentary bikes available to us to explore the near by town of Seaside. Both my husband and I had massages at the spa which completed our goal of total relaxation. I can't wait to return to this slice of heaven with beautiful sugar sand beaches and lovely sunsets!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Guest Services at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of our resort. We are glad that you had a great birthday while you were here and enjoyed your stay. We agree that October is a great time to visit the beaches and our communities. We look forward to your next visit and hope that you will return, as many do, year after year to celebrate special occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa Beach
8.2 mi away
The Pearl
The Pearl
#1 of 1 in Rosemary Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
7.7 mi away
30A Suites
30A Suites
#1 of 1 in Santa Rosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
13.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
1.6 mi away
Hibiscus Coffee and Guesthouse
Hibiscus Coffee and Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Grayton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WaterColor Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WaterColor Inn and Resort

Property: WaterColor Inn and Resort
Address: 34 Goldenrod Circle, Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Santa Rosa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Rosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — WaterColor Inn and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a pristine white-sand beach overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, the Forbes Four-Star & AAA Four-Diamond WaterColor Inn provides chic accommodations and acclaimed amenities in idyllic surroundings. From dining on award-winning gourmet cuisine to great golfing and complimentary kayaking, canoeing and tennis, activities abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your WaterColor Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watercolor Hotel Santa Rosa Beach
Water Color Hotel
WaterColor Inn And Resort Florida/Santa Rosa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing