We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
WaterColor Inn and Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Wife and I stayed four nights and enjoyed it immensely. This is a well kept facility, very tastefully done. They clearly thought through every detail, even their logo my wife and i both loved. The staff were wonderful, each and every one of them.

We didn't realize when we booked how large the facility was and how much it had to offer. From the moment we arrived and saw there was ample parking and no need to valet, I was very pleased. We ate at the wine bar/Italian restaurant twice and the food was excellent.

If I had to be nit picky I would say a few things that could be changed:

1). The $25/day for two beach chairs was a bit steep for my tastes, especially considering what the rooms cost per night. Plus it was a hassle to get them rented.

2). I'd like to see them add an additional casual place to eat on the premises, because driving down the road where there are more options is a hassle. Just a casual burger hut/sandwich place would be a nice addition.

These are small issues in the grand scheme of things and we enjoyed our stay immensely and plan to return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DFWTravelerDallas_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Guest Services at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for writing a review of our resort. We appreciate all of your comments and are glad that you had an enjoyable stay. Please let us know if we can assist you with your return reservations and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    95
    39
    28
    16
See reviews for
164
187
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

The rooms in the inn are very large, very comfortable, well appointed with great views of beach and/or dunes. Even have a view of the dunes from the shower while still in complete privacy. Every room has a patio or balcony with comfortable chairs. The place is very attractive and the staff is uniformly friendly and helpful. Free use of bikes any time you want one was a nice plus. Easy bike ride into Seaside. Happy hour at the Gathering Spot is a great deal for sushi and drinks.
A few minor problems -- the stair well did not seem to be vacuumed all week. A few cheerios on the floor behind the TV cabinet when we arrived. And the beach is very sloped at the waterline, so hard to walk on -- but it is a beautiful white sand beach. And several times there were no clean towels at the adult pool.
But we will definitely return to the Watercolor Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 58DavidAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Guest Services at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for pointing out some of the best features of our hotel and location. We agree that the beach views are great and are happy to hear that you had a wonderful vacation. We appreciate your comments regarding housekeeping, it will help our staff to improve our services. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed in the Watercolor inn last week and everything was perfect. Well other than the weather haha but they cannot control that! The service was beyond great and the building is so pretty and the rooms are wonderful! Especially the beds! I wish i could live there! Also you HAVE to go to Fish out of water restaurant right next to the hotel its amazing meal. One of the best meals ive ever had plus the service is excellent. Really made the trip great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Guest Services at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you were able to experience our amenities here at the resort. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We booked our rental home in September,2012, for our family vacation in July, 2013. We thought we had found the perfect location: short walk to Seaside, large home to accommodate our party of ten, and quiet street. The accommodations were just what we wanted. In March, 2013, we received a call that we had to find a different rental home. No explanation given. Well, by then, anything of quality was already booked for the Fourth of July week. However, there was another rental available and we could either take it or cancel our vacation plans. We had already bought airline tickets and surrounding communities (Seaside, Seagrove, etc,..) were already booked. We were not able to find anything for six adults and four children. Warning signs were there, but we decided to try our luck. Watercolor did give us a $300 credit for our troubles to be spent at the exclusive Fish Out Of Water restaurant.
I can understand why this rental unit was still available. The refrigerator did not work, toilet wouldn't flush, tub wouldn't drain, and water poured in the window during a thunderstorm. A dorm size refrigerator was delivered and the service personnel said we weren't supposed to put warm items in the refrigerator. Huh? The next day, a regular size refrigerator was delivered and placed in our hallway. Service personnel commented they had made several calls to this rental unit regarding the refrigerator, but don't know how to replace it. An outside service man was called, which required me to stay at the unit and wait! Not what I had planned for my vacation. Issues were resolved, however for the cost and $65 a day resort fee, not a good value,
Cleanliness is a major issue at the Watercolor beach. My family had to pick up trash before we could use our four cabana umbrellas an chairs. The cabana person said the trash was washed up from the gulf. Watercolor logo cups, straws, bottles, etc. ; not a place you want your kids playing in the sand. Umbrellas are closed up by using large rubber bands which were strewn on the beach. Definitely an environmental and health risk!
Had we not been vacationing in this area since 1994, we would never return! We are already looking at rental units for our family vacation in 2014 and Watercolor will not be on the list.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lsgetnby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Guest Services at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Our apologies for the issues you had with your vacation home. Unfortunately your initial rental home sold and the new owners chose not to have the home continue in the rental program, which is disappointing as our staff tries to make sure every guest experience is what they envisioned and we are disappointed when we fail in those efforts. Your comments are accurate as reported and were addressed shortly after they were reported, with the exception of the refrigerator which was resolved on June 30, in which we followed up to ensure everything resolved and offered credit. Obviously based on your posting you were not satisfied, which we are sorry. We do appreciate your taking the time to post your comments, and we sincerely hope you will give us a second chance to earn your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

What a serene little spot. I particularly love the proximity of the Beach Club to the beach access. Our accommodations were extremely clean. The staff was polite, cheerful, and helpful. We will return next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Guest Services at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your comments and are glad that you had a great vacation. We look forward to your return and if we can assist you with your future reservations, please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My family of 5 (3 kids) rented a house (88 Buttercup) at Watercolor in June 2013. We have traveled to this part of Florida (Destin, etc.) many times, but this was our first time to actually stay at Watercolor. Overall, Watercolor could not be more family-friendly; in terms of mainland US beach destinations, it has little competition (and most of its few competitors can be found in the same vicinity along Highway 30-A). The beach and water are beautiful; this is arguably the prettiest set of beaches in the United States. Our house (3 bedrooms, with a fourth in a detached carriage house) was perfect for our family and the other family of 5 we traveled with. It was a very short walk or bike ride to the beach and main pool, and right across the street from a park where they played baseball with kids they met at the resort. We drove from Texas and brought our bikes; whether you drive or fly, you will want to bring or rent a bike. There are lots of trails, and you will also want to ride down to the restaurants at Seaside (a competing resort that is right next door). My kids would spend hours biking, catching tadpoles, exploring etc. every day - we did not anticipate that they would enjoy the non-beach, non-water activities so much. Initially, we were hesitant to let them ride by themselves, but by the end of the trip, they were all over the place (hence the Mayberry comment; there are very few places left where you can let your kids do that anymore). There are at least 5 or 6 different pools, tennis courts, kayaking, a workout facility, a great kid's club (our older kids - 7 and 8 - did it one afternoon and had a good time). The service was excellent. Perhaps the only downside is the lack of dining options; there is a wine bar that's good, and Fish out of Water restaurant at the Watercolor Inn is good fine dining, but aside from that, you have to go somewhere (Seaside or Grayton Beach are close). Obviously, a lot of people do lunch and breakfast in their homes or condos, but if you want to go out in Watercolor, the options are kind of limited (there is food service at the main pool; it's average). We went to Paradis in Rosemary Beach and George's in Alys Beach, and I highly recommend both places. In sum, Watercolor is a perfect family beach destination.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TXattorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review. We are happy to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable stay. We agree that this is a great location for families and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Bottom line: Watercolor rocks! It's not the least bit inexpensive, but you absolutely get what you pay for. We've stayed in two locations now, the most recent being the condos directly across 30A from the main resort. And the place was fabulous.

The apartment was huge and spacious and gorgeously appointed. A full kitchen, powder room, laundry, upstairs loft, big balcony looking across to the resort, and a wonderful, open living area were all on offer. Everything was spotlessly clean and I couldn't help but think I wouldn't have a problem living there permanently...

The reservations hostess I spoke with was extremely helpful, since we had just left another location down the coast which was terribly sub-par. The hostess was able to place us last-minute and offered a great discount to boot.

Hats off to Watercolor. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felix_That_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. We agree that “WaterColor rocks!” and the homes here are a great place for families to stay. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa Beach
8.2 mi away
The Pearl
The Pearl
#1 of 1 in Rosemary Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
7.7 mi away
30A Suites
30A Suites
#1 of 1 in Santa Rosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
13.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
1.6 mi away
Hibiscus Coffee and Guesthouse
Hibiscus Coffee and Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Grayton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WaterColor Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WaterColor Inn and Resort

Property: WaterColor Inn and Resort
Address: 34 Goldenrod Circle, Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Santa Rosa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Rosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — WaterColor Inn and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a pristine white-sand beach overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, the Forbes Four-Star & AAA Four-Diamond WaterColor Inn provides chic accommodations and acclaimed amenities in idyllic surroundings. From dining on award-winning gourmet cuisine to great golfing and complimentary kayaking, canoeing and tennis, activities abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your WaterColor Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watercolor Hotel Santa Rosa Beach
Water Color Hotel
WaterColor Inn And Resort Florida/Santa Rosa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing