We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of WaterColor Inn and Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
WaterColor Inn and Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
“Great Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I had the pleasure of taking a weekend getaway with my husband. We used a travel agent and had a few Florida choices. We are very glad that we chose to go to Watercolor Inn. Great hospitality despite it raining the entire trip. Shaq and crew in the Lobby Bar are phenomenal! The place is clean with a nightly turn down service. We will visit here again soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We were pleased to hear that your stay was outstanding and hope you can make another quick getaway soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    93
    39
    28
    16
See reviews for
160
184
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at this super house and resort in September 2012. ( 385 Western Lake) We needed to be there for a weekend wedding and decided to stay tor a week. We couldn't have been more pleased. The house is a very short walk to the beach, inn and pool and has beautiful views of Western Lake. The house furnishings, beddding and decor are very high end, not what you would expect in a rental. We also enjoyed the amazing deck space all around. The resort amenities and staff couldn't have been nicer. Whether we were biking, playing tennis, taking long walks along the lake or enjoying the beautiful white sand beach, each day was magical. A family trip we will never forget. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 33Silverwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for the complimentary review! We are happy to hear that your stay was quite enjoyable and you will be returning soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We required. two rooms with two beds for four adult girlfriends travelling together. I phoned this hotel twice in advance of booking to ask about the sofa beds. This hotel does not have rooms with two beds. I was assured the sofa beds were suitable for adults and they had no complaints to date. At the high price of $420 (inc taxes and resort fee) for a premium room per night we expected good sofa beds. $1680 in total for two rooms for two nights The people sleeping on the sofa beds, one in each were not happy, they did not have a good nights sleep as the beds had very thin mattresses with coils on a very flimsy plastic sheet base. Our complaint to reception and then management was not taken seriously or dealt with in a conciliatory manner. We discussed our complaint with different people for well over an hour and a half.
Their method of dealing with us was not satisfactory , very un American like where customer service is second to none. The hotel wanted to give us more rooms at a cost each per night, this cost on top of the high price we had paid for a comfortable bed was not satisfactory. Then when we decided to leave they wanted to charge us cancellation fees for checking out after one night instead of the two nights we had booked originally. On inspection of the sofa beds the manager agreed to give us two more rooms free of charge when she saw the broken springs on the sofa bed.

The management doggedly defended their position on this matter for over an hour and a half until finally agreeing that we the guests had a valid point and gave us a satisfactory outcome. This experience and the length of time it took to resolve the issue has left us with a bad feeling about the WaterColor Inn. This was scheduled to be two nights relaxation in a four week road trip but given the cost and the overall experience we would not be tempted to return


Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank SallyGardens45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Our apologies for the issues you had with your guestroom. The staff tries to make sure every guest experience is what they envisioned and we are disappointed when we fail in those efforts. We do appreciate your taking the time to post your comments, and we sincerely hope you will give us a second chance to earn your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

On the whole we enjoyed our four nights/five days at Watercolor, but when we made the reservation nobody mentioned that we were out of season or that being out of season would make such a difference. First, the room was a junior suite and lovely -- soft tans, creams, and pale sea-green colors, high end furnishings, very large. The bath was also very large with a separate toilet room, wide double sinks, and a giant shower with hand-held and wall-mounted shower heads at either end. We were on the third floor with a full Gulf view. People on the second and first floors look out a few feet right into a dune; i.e., no view but a nice terrace. The balcony was slim but had two tall wooden chairs that were remarkably comfortable. Service and turn-down were timely done; turndown included two large home-baked cookies and no limit on distilled water bottles. There is a resort fee ($25), but too much of what it covered was unavailable! Bicycles (2/room) were provided. A library was well stocked with books and DVDs that guests could borrow. In particular, though, we could not get beach lounges and towels. The restaurant Fish Out of Water (which we looked forward to) was closed, the Beach Club was closed, and the Grill was closed. The only food service was in the bar/lounge, with very limited dinner and breakfast options. I think this resort is packed during the season, but it seemed almost empty when we were there. Because this is a huge residential and resort property, it was quite eerie both during the day and especially at night. Highway 30A has lots of good restaurants to chose from, though several are closed out of season and nearly empty in February. The property is adjacent to Grayton Park, which means beautiful, sugar-white sand beaches far into the distance with very few people. I had wonderful beach walks, especially at sunset. We recommend this hotel, but go when everything is open and all the services are provided.

Room Tip: Get Gulf view rooms on floors three or four. Floor one has only a view of the first tall dune -- no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cadkison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our Resort. We are sorry that your stay was not what you expected. In the off season, it is customary for many locations to scale back on their hours of operation due to lack of demand and take this time to make improvements to amenities. There are still a lot of things that visitors can do in the area during this time, as many people enjoy the quiet of the beaches. If you wish to avoid the crowds, yet still enjoy the seasonal amenities, perhaps the early fall or late spring would be ideal. Again thank you for your comments and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

What an amazing way to ring in the new year......this area is so amazing. Uncommercial, beautiful beaches & nice people. Bike everywhere and enjoy the calm. The hotel is amazing from the lovely greeting by the nice lady with the long dark hair at the front desk whose name I can't remember, to the sweet housekeeping staff, to Woody at breakfast (the French Toast alone is worth the stay), to the firepit outside at night with drinks. Everything was so well thought out - especially the shower & the higher chairs on the balconies overlooking the gorgeous gulf. I want to make this a NYE annual tradition. It's chilly, but it's amazing & a heck of a lot warmer than B'more!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baltimoretraveler615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I only live 30 minutes away but Watercolor Inn was headquarters for the festival so rather than drive back and forth, I stayed with them for the duration. It was an excellent decision. The 3rd floor balcony had a gorgeous view of the Gulf. The mini suite room was lovely, warm and comfortable. From start to finish - nothing but friendly, helpful service from the staff. I've stayed in lots of high end hotels in and out of the country and this was one of my favorite experiences. I'll go back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We were pleased to hear that your stay was outstanding and hope you can make WaterColor your 30A Songwriters Festival tradition!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife and I recently celebrated our 30th at Watercolor Inn. This was our first time at the property and we would highly recommend it to anyone looking for an outstanding experience at a fine beachfront resort. All of the staff.....front desk, bell, restaurant, and beach....., were well-trained, courteous, and efficient. We received a complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival which was a nice touch. Our room was on the top floor and looked directly out onto the Gulf of Mexico, you couldn't have a better view. The room was clean, comfortable, and decorated nicely. There's a great adults-only pool right out the door from the lobby, a very quiet and serene setting, and the staff will serve you drinks poolside. We ate breakfast at Fish out of Water on two occasions and were impressed with the quality both times. We also ate dinner there on a busy Saturday night and despite some challenges with being understaffed and getting seated at a table in the restaurant (we had to dine in the cocktail lounge area which was OK), the experience was good. The bellmen were terrific about getting us bikes when we wanted to go exploring, and the bike trail along 30A is extremely convenient. You can also ride throughout the Watercolor property and also nearby Seaside. We are looking forward to returning soon!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor do not have a view of the Gulf, just the dunes (which isn't bad!). Spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msh305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
First of all congratulations on your 30th Anniversary, which is mile marker to be proud of! Thank You for making WaterColor Inn & Resort your choice to celebrate your marriage. We love to hear from all of our guests - from those just beginning their family to those like you celebrating a special occasion in their lives. We hope that you make plans to return perhaps for that 31st celebration. Our staff looks forward to assisting you in making reservations and being of service for future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa Beach
8.2 mi away
The Pearl
The Pearl
#1 of 1 in Rosemary Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
7.7 mi away
30A Suites
30A Suites
#1 of 1 in Santa Rosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
13.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
1.6 mi away
Hibiscus Coffee and Guesthouse
Hibiscus Coffee and Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Grayton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WaterColor Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WaterColor Inn and Resort

Property: WaterColor Inn and Resort
Address: 34 Goldenrod Circle, Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Santa Rosa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Rosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — WaterColor Inn and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a pristine white-sand beach overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, the Forbes Four-Star & AAA Four-Diamond WaterColor Inn provides chic accommodations and acclaimed amenities in idyllic surroundings. From dining on award-winning gourmet cuisine to great golfing and complimentary kayaking, canoeing and tennis, activities abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your WaterColor Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watercolor Hotel Santa Rosa Beach
Water Color Hotel
WaterColor Inn And Resort Florida/Santa Rosa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing