We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, extra nice staff!”
Review of Fish Out Of Water

Fish Out Of Water
Reserve with OpenTable
Fish Out Of Water is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $55
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Highway 30-A
Description: Fish Out of Water, WaterColor Inn's signature restaurant, sets a glamorous scene overlooking the emerald waters of the Gulf of Mexico, with virtuoso cuisine and a distinctive wine list to match. The freshest local fish and meats, combined with an eclectic approach to traditional ways of preparing and serving food, translating into dishes unlike anything else offered in the area. A semi-private dining room is available, lined with bottles from the restaurant's collection of over 3,000, representing some 600+ labels. Fish Out of Water has earned a number of distinctions for excellence. In addition, to garnering Forbes Travel Guide Four Star designation and the AAA four diamond award, Fish Out of Water received a Golden Spoon Award from Florida Trend magazine and earned a Best of Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, extra nice staff!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We met friends at Fish Out of Water last night for dinner. We had three active little boys with us and I was worried that might be a problem. The staff couldn't have been nicer! Our food was delicious, too. I had the grouper special and really enjoyed it. The desserts sounded wonderful, but by that time we were too full to try them. It's pricey and upscale but I didn't feel like it was "stuffy" or snooty. We all really enjoyed it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina B, Supervisor at Fish Out Of Water, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review of our restaurant. It is great to hear that we hit the mark on many aspects of your dining experience. We do hope that next time you seize the opportunity to indulge in Pastry Chef Jordan's nightly creation, the featured souffle is a local favorite. Please do not hesitate to contact us to arrange your next reservation. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    54
    27
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent Service!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The service is top notch here and the food is delicious. I had the grouper special which was very fresh and the waiter was very helpful with giving suggestions regarding what was good!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gloria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina B, Supervisor at Fish Out Of Water, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review of our restaurant. It is great to hear that you really enjoyed the service and the daily fish feature. Chef Shaun O'Brien and Chef Preetam Pardeshi work diligently to keep our guests' culinary experience level high and it is great to hear they have hit the mark once again for you. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Food, Beautiful View”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I ate here while visiting family. This is one of their favorites restaurants. We had a table by the window and enjoyed the view of the water. We each ate a salad and fish- all were very good. Our server was very personable and attentive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeDe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina B, Supervisor at Fish Out Of Water, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review of our restaurant. It is great to hear that we have met your expectations in choosing our restaurant as your dining destination. Please do not hesitate to contact us to arrange your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Chuck at Fish Out of Water - At the apex of his profession!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I just returned from two weeks of humanitarian work in Africa. My friend brought me to FOW to celebrate my return. I must say the fare was unique and delicious but our waitstaff sent the experience sailing over the moon. Chuck waited on us and satisfied our every muse- very intelligent, attentive and humorous. By far the best I have ever experienced in his profession. Ask for him when you go and thank me later! (Thank YOU so much, Chuck!!)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FaithPhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina B, Supervisor at Fish Out Of Water, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review of our restaurant. We are elated to hear that Chuck not only hit the mark but exceeded your expectations on the many aspects of your dining experience. Please do not hesitate to contact us to arrange your next reservation. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Least favorite meal...”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had really high expectations for this restaurant but were disappointed. We felt like we were at a business dinner in a convention center. It didn't fit in with the laid back, casual elegance of the town at all. Food was mediocre and service was flat. We had many meals in the area and this was out least favorite.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachGal3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina B, Supervisor at Fish Out Of Water, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing our restaurant and taking the time to give us a review from your experience. We’re sorry to hear that you had a disappointing visit. We constantly strive to provide our guests with a culinary experience that is above and beyond their expectations. We do hope that one day you will give us the opportunity to win back your business. Should you decide to give us another chance, please don’t hesitate to call and ask for the restaurant’s Manager, Kyle Davis, before your visit so that we can do everything in our power to make it a special dining experience for you. Thank you again for your review and your time in submitting it to Trip Advisor, we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Out Of Water also viewed

Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Fish Out Of Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing