We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad, but not exceptional”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Thirty A

Cafe Thirty A
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Thirty A is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Somerset Bridge Rd.
Description: Café Thirty-A is a casual fine-dining restaurant featuring grilled and fire roasted seafood, meats and poultry, wood-oven pizza, vegetarian fare and hedonistic, "architectural" desserts. The menu changes daily according to availability of ingredients. Fine wines and cocktails--including a creative menu of the best martinis in the area--complement the meal. The ambiance is open, casual, "islandy," yet sophisticated, with vaulted ceilings, upside-down market umbrellas, hand painted chairs, intimate lighting and half-wall dividers creating the atmosphere. Patrons often state, "It just makes you feel good to walk in here!" It's a fun, happening place to dine - with impeccable, yet unpretentious, service. Recent and ongoing awards are: Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, Florida Trend Golden Spoon Award, North American Restaurant Association Five-Star Award of Excellence, NW Florida Daily News “Restaurant of the Year.” Private dining for 25-80 is available upstairs in the Fishbone
Panama City Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not exceptional”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Overall Café 30A is not bad. The entrees and desserts were very good, but no more imaginative or no better tasting than what you would find at your local chain restraint, say Bonefish. The two for one early special made the price of the meal reasonable. The service was attentive, but I felt too much so. The waiter discussed EVERY dish in detail and then stood about three feet from the table during the meal, which was a bit creepy. I really enjoy a good martini, but the one here was the worst I have ever had. It burned going down and tasted like cough syrup. Overall not a bad experience, but not as good as I would have hoped.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank laurhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    608
    141
    55
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marietta
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must on 30A”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

The Red snapper was awesome Troy was our waiter, very experienced, helpful and made our evening enjoyable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Prichards1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“WOW, Cafe Thirty A”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Vacationing in Panama City beach, NOT a restaurant mecca! Found this gem on Restaurant.com. Went for dinner with hubby on July 4th! Got there early enough for 2 for 1 special! Had beef carpaccio to start which was delish. I had the snapper over andouille and scallion risotto. It was too big to finish and fantastic. Hubby had the diver scallops over quinoa and it was great as well. Finished with banana beignets as recommended and NOT disappointed. Too bad the best restaurant in Panama City Beach is actually in Santa Rosa Beach! Our waiter, Sam, was awesome and knowledgeable. Offered great wine choices. Looking forward to our next trip!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hckhbellfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
97 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“It was good, but not what I expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Everyone raves about Cafe 30A, supposed to be the best, etc... So, we went for dinner, and , yes, it was good. But, I was expecting exceptional food, and, more of a local flavor.... Not lobsters and scallops flown in from the northeast... We certainly did not leave stuffed. The grouper (one of the few items we recognized as being local or even regional) was the best dish served. My scallops were tasty (although I have had better) and i did not care for the quinoa - weird spicy flavoring. Service was excellent, and it was speedy, almost too speedy? I almost felt rushed, and we were not offered dessert... Ambiance was pleasant, and for once, we did not freeze in a nice restaurant! While it was good, i am not sure if we will go back... We will just be able to say one day "yes, we've been there..."

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JollyRoger47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food & excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had an excellent dinner and our server was very friendly and helpful. We have kids with food allergies and he was absolutely conscientious about ensuring that there was no cross contamination. Also we had multiple generations in our group and he was congenial to all! We received this recommendation from a local and we will return. Fabulous evening!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BJBJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Thirty A also viewed

Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Cafe Thirty A? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing