We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Happy Hour on 30A”

Great Southern Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Happy Hour on 30A”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Visited the Great Southern three times on our vacation. The breakfast was good, perhaps overpriced, but the beignets were totally worth it. Spent two afternoons enjoying the $5/dozen oysters during happy hour. Friendly service and good atmosphere perfect for an after beach cocktail.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelingloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    685
    317
    100
    45
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Used to be good....What happened??”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

Our family used to love this restaurant. something has happened though?? We ate there 2 weeks ago. The food was very substandard. The shrimp looked and tasted like they came from Publix. The fried Oysters were terrible. The fried calamari was some of the worst I've ever tasted. It's hard to believe we were at the beach and the seafood was so poor. There are many great seafood places on 30A but unfortunately this is no longer one of them.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank ann34963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Silverware in a dirty, rusty bucket”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

My wife and I live in the area and have been searching for new places to eat. We were both very disappointed. They have spent alot of money on the webpage but should spend more money on the staff and food. We sat outside so we did not see the dining room. Our table was spotted and dirty, the silverware and napkins were shoved into a rusty bucket with an old dirty service towel in the bottom. I emptied the contents of the bucket and found spotted silverware, an old lemon, rust and hair. These things are totally expected at a beachside burger shack but not expected at a place serving 30 dollar entrees.
Server didnt care much for our experience. Not one person knew what the Slow Roasted Meat of the Night was after I asked. I asked my server and she looks over to the 4 teenage girls doing a horrible job at hosting and says "Hey! Whats the meat of the Night?" One girl looked up from her phone as she was texting and said "I dont know" The server than forgot my wifes order within 10 seconds of her saying it. Even after repeating herself they brought out her salad with the dressing on it, not on the side. We ordered the 9 dollar chicken wings for an appetizer, 10 chicken wings soggy and cold in a crappy plastic basket with celery and carrots that looked and tasted as if they were under a heat lamp for 10 minutes.
We had each ate two chicken wings when some guy who looked very unhappy to be there brought our entrees out. My wife said that she ordered the dressing on the side and he just picked it up and walked away. Never said a word to us. Five minutes later when he brought the new salad he just put it down and walked away. Never a word spoken. So now we have our cold, soggy appetizer and our sad looking dinners on the table at the same time, which we both hate. Please let us eat our apps, clear the table and serve us our meal.
On to the dinner, my wifes 15 dollar chicken caesar salad was about one cup of chopped romaine that was semi-brown on the edges and maybe 3 or 4 ozs of overcooked grilled chicken with a few crappy veggies and crutons sprinkled around. My 18.95 Salmon Balsamic salad was a super welldone 3 oz piece of salmon that either wasnt very fresh or came out of a huge box of cheap frozen filets. This horribly cooked piece of meat was resting on top of some moist, soggy spring mix that also came out of a box. The grilled or roasted veggies was a big mushy chunk of ice cold squash, a small slice of carrot and 4 mushy cucumbers. My balsamic vinaigrette was literally just oil and balsamic. No extra prep time spent on that and they spilled dressing all over the ramekin and plate.
So after one glass of wine, 2 waters, some boring chicken wings, two horrible excuses for salads. our lazy, untrained waiter brings us a 48 dollar bill.
Dont waste your time. Dont waste your money. If you need a place to go grab a burger or pork sandwich in your bathing suit im sure it would be fine but if you are looking for quality service and a nice meal dont bother.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank KyleSwift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
“Better Than Expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

Large party of 8 including adults and teenagers and everyone was very satisfied with their selections. Food was much better than expected. One person never eats grits yet loved their shrimp and grits. Grouper was also outstanding and one person ordered salmon (obviously not a local fish) yet almost licked the plate. Waitress took very good care of us but be sure to check the bill as the 20% tip was already included. Not cheap but reasonable for the area... yet well worth the money spent.

Almost forgot... wine servings at the bar were generous and you should try to get there for happy hour!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spratman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

Good place to go for happy hour. The food is OK. The shrimp and grits were good but they manage to ruin fresh fish. The "pecan crusted" grouper was a fried shell around the fish and was poorly prepared.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank docduoatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Southern Cafe also viewed

Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Great Southern Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing