We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just kick back and relax”

Topsail Beach State Preserve
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With three miles of beach, this state beach appeals to nature lovers.
columbus GA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just kick back and relax”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Came here with the wife and family stayed in the new cabins in the back. For the price it was well worth it and we would come back in a heart beat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank allaroundtheworld874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    81
    16
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Tent Campground & Family Friendly!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

It's so great that these parks are still around for us tent campers! Most RV parks now only cater to the elderly and retirees, and no longer are providing a family fun atmosphere. I am pleased to inform that this is a family friendly campground. The tent pads are a nice size and with our large family tent we still had extra room on the pad. During the day and until night we played our radio(of course low not blasting) and had no complaints(unlike above mentioned rv resorts). We also had a 3 and 1 year old and they had a blast running around in the woodsy atmosphere!! In fact, you will find many families roasting marshmallows, playing music, board games, riding bikes, and just having a great time!! There are still some elderly and my only complaint is they like to walk their yappy dogs before quiet hours are over which is very early in the morning. It would wake up our kids and my dog. They did place a warning up though about walking dogs before quiet hours are over so big thanks to the park staff!
TIP: Be warned that there is plenty of wildlife in this park. We found the easiest thing is to leave all food in the vehicle and hang our trash off the ground! Do not leave any food on the table or ground unless you would like an insect, lizard, or other animal intrusion over night!

If you don't want to wait on a bus or trek to the nearest beach, we get in our car and exit the park to the right. There are plenty of parking spaces right on the beach! They are also less crowded!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank thesavants08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catawissa, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best camping near the beach!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The state park is well kept and nicely shaded. There is a stand of trees between each site typically. There are trails and paths to walk/bike. Pet friendly and close to the beach. The shower houses are clean and there is a laundry facility as well. They have a tram that runs from 9am-7pm on the hour to take you to and from the beach or you can walk/bike the .7 mile path on your own. There are restrooms and showers at the beach access. The beach area is for state park patrons only and it is not crowded at all. It is very clean and beautiful.

There is a park store that has most necessities if you forget anything. They also sell soda, ice and ice cream. You can get change there too for the laundry machines.

The park is close to lots of restaurants and activities on hwy 98. There is a Walmart and Publix nearby as well. If you are lucky to get reservations at this park...You will not be disappointed. We also visited Henderson State Park while we were there... Not as shady and nice as Topsail!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank luvtotravel920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most beautiful, easy, relaxing vacation ever”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here twice and plan to come every year! Wonderful and family friendly! Beautiful beaches and great sights

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PonyJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best camping in Destin area”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The campground is clean and well laid out, short ride/walk/tram to wonderful emerald coast beaches. Bath houses are clean and the campground is family friendly - nice for bike riding and walking.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank philsandoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topsail Beach State Preserve also viewed

Grayton Beach, Santa Rosa Beach
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Topsail Beach State Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing