We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Highlands House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A Highlands House Bed and Breakfast
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

My wife and I just returned home from our Memorial Day weekend in Santa Rosa Beach. The facilities were clean and staff extra friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and they even made special accomodations for my wife. The rooms are not large, nor are the TVs, but we weren't there to stay in the room. Though not on the beach, there is a private boardwalk about 100 yards long, the stretch of beach is ideal! Extremely quiet when compared to 200 yards either way. If you want a quaint, welcoming B&B, this is it, we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    19
    3
    6
    5
See reviews for
16
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We were able to rent the entire facility for a large family reunion. It could not have been more perfect--large gathering areas and multiple tables in the dinig room, functional kitchen for cooking for a crowd, 10 bedrooms each with its own full bathroom, great views of the Gulf, and only steps from the beach.

Although we never met the staff, they were very helpful over the phone, had the house clean and completely ready for us, and had ammenities we needed to make our stay wonderful.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great...just depends on if you require a gulf view, a bigger bathroom, or extra p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AshleyB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2008

Hello, I'm so excited to add my review to those already here for A Highland's House in Santa Rosa, Florida. My husband and I have been travelers for nearly 20 years and have stayed at some of the countries most exquisite hotels and have enjoyed wonderful service at most places we've traveled. After having our first child nine years ago, we just added him to our travel plans and he now has a great deal of travel experience and love for the nicer things in life. Now, this last fall we added a beautiful baby boy to our family and immediately realized we would have so much more family expense and so were looking for a special vacation for our family without the usual $400-500 a night room rates we've become accustomed to. I spent hours looking through condos and hotels in the Fort Walton Beach area and became discouraged because all the nice places were in our old price range and if we wanted a second trip this summer, were not right for our budget. I stumbled onto A Highland's House website and immediately fell in love with the house. And by the way, it is almost completely remodeled since I booked in March and traveled in late June. I am a designer and loved the high end bedding (yes, I looked at every room) and the new furniture and decor in the great room. When I booked the room, I had a hundred questions for Cheryl, the Inn Keeper, and she was very patient with me. I even asked her specific questions about unpleasant reviews I read on this site and she explained to me the stories behind the issues. I completely trusted her answers as I spent years in the service industry and can see how a small thing can and will be exaggerated when someone is disgruntled. I'm so glad I did trust her as I found none of the negative remarks during my stay at AHH. Once we arrived, we arrived to a beautiful plantation porch overlooking the water, a quick stroll down the boardwalk to a blue green ocean with white sand, and to the most beautiful room. Each morning we enjoyed a simple and pretty healthy breakfast, although there were several unhealthy choices as well. The entire house was very clean and each of our unusual requests were met with a smile and were met quickly. We played on the beach each day and when we needed dinner or entertainment suggestions, we were never disappointed. We had a wonderful and very memorable time at AHH and absolutely would stay there again and suggest it to our friends. If you have any questions, make the call and have them answered for yourself. For the money, there is no where better to stay in the Panhandle of Florida. Happy Traveling.

  • Liked — room, view, ocean, cost, service
  • Disliked — the drive from Texas, very long
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TexasKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2008

The "A Highlands House" on "30-A" as the area is called is an amazing place and should be visited if you like a beach that is not ruined by condos and hotels. We had a whole family stay there and rented the entire house. Cheryl and Beth (the innkeepers) were extremely helpful and very friendly. They stayed late, got up early and went above and beyond what I think their usual responsibilities should have been. The setting of the hotel is very beautiful with the estuary and boardwalk in the back guarantee there will always be an amazing view. They have a huge back yard that was perfect for the event, a wedding of 300 people, and even allowed us to put up a huge tent to be ready if the perfect weather didn't cooperate, which we didn't need because May in Florida is awesome. The breakfasts were included and delicious. The porches and beaches were great and we enjoyed them daily for 5 days. There are many great restaurants in the area for the other meals. There are tons of pubs, bars and shops to explore. The rooms are very comfortable with their own baths and entrances. I will go back anytime I get the chance. Heck I might even move there! ~Tad (the bride's favorite cousin)

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank mcctad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ak.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2008

excellent facility, superb staff, beautiful rooms,wonderful food-I do not believe any thing could have been any better- if you're looking for a place that can "do it all" look no further!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2008

Just returned from this property where we stayed for one night. Overall, it was very nice. The room was somwehat small but comfortable. Bed was very comfortable and it had a nice bathroom. We only had a tiny TV that got exactly 0 channels, but otherwise, no complaints. Breakfast was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Close access to the beach, though many of the rooms do not have a view (extra charge).
I thought the price was a little steep, but I imagine most places in the area run near this price or higher.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank moshiba99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonderful Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Highlands House Bed and Breakfast in February 2008. It was an outstanding experience. We have stayed at many other places but we rate this one the best. The room was very neat and clean. The yard and access to the beach was wonderful. Last but not least was the breakfast. It was fantastic. The Manager treated us like royalty. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank felder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa Beach
2.5 mi away
30A Suites
30A Suites
#1 of 1 in Santa Rosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
5.9 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
13.4 mi away
The Pearl
The Pearl
#1 of 1 in Rosemary Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
14.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
3.6 mi away
Hibiscus Coffee and Guesthouse
Hibiscus Coffee and Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Grayton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Highlands House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Highlands House Bed and Breakfast

Property: A Highlands House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4193 West Scenic Highway 30A, Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Santa Rosa Beach
Amenities:
Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Rosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — A Highlands House Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Highlands House is an antebellum style home, traditional and cozy, yet sophisticated Bed & Breakfast, nestled on a seaside patch of paradise in South Walton in an exclusive area on Hwy 30-A. Get lost in yourself while you relax on the veranda with a most picturesque and breathtaking view of the white sands and emerald green waters of Dune Allen Beach, then enjoy a fabulous full breakfast sure to please any pallet or appetite. A Highlands House specializes in Weddings, Corporate Events and Reunions, as well as your romantic weekend or vacation get away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your A Highlands House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Highlands House b&b
a Highlands House Hotel Santa Rosa Beach
A Highlands House Bed And Breakfast Florida/Santa Rosa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing