We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Couple Dining Experience”
Review of Borago

Borago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a small contemporary Italian restaurant. We have a full bar and bar area, dining room with open kitchen and a screened in porch area. We are chef owned and operated and at least one of the two owner/chefs can be found in the kitchen every night. We have a excellent staff most of whom have been with us for many years. We had our 15 year anniversary on March 1, 2015 with the same two owner/chefs for that time. We have a nice variety of food to choose from, with appetizers like calamari and pan seared sea scallops, salads like Caesar and arugula, pastas like angel hair with pan seared shrimp and three meat bolognese and entrees like grouper nicoise and roasted eggplant lasagna. Please come and give us a try!
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic Couple Dining Experience”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband & I went to Borago's our last night in Santa Rosa & what a great way to end our trip. We sat on the porch area (the inside is not as private). Very nicely appointed, outstanding service & great food!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank G F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    37
    18
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level Contributor
516 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening meal at Borago”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Some friends and I had an intimate dinner at Borago last night. We sat at the bar and had a great time there. The staff was exceptional and the service we received was the same. We started out with a few appetizers of sea scallops and seared tuna, a few bottles of red wine and filet mignon entrees. The steak was cooked perfectly medium rare. Everything that we tried was good and I would not hesitate to eat here again if I'm in the neighborhood.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Under rated restaurant!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The food and service here were both fabulous! We started off with Seared Ahi Tuna and Arugula Salad with shaved parmesan. Perfect! I had the Grouper Nicoise and it was amazing. Fisth was tender and flaky and the mashed potatoes and roasted artichoke hearts were the perfect accomponiant. Husband has the Tortollini with three meat bolononagse. Yum as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JBHJasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed Local”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Seated in front of an open kitchen, very noisy and difficult to hear conversation. Management didn't offer to seat us in another location and the waitress was rude when we opted to leave.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
“Cockroach”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We were enjoying our evening at Borago's when my husband felt something crawling on him. It was a cockroach. I immediately told our waiter. The manager came over..basically told us "that it's been raining a lot outside". Food is mediocre. Nothing to write home about. Back in Houston, they would have covered our meal. Not here. I cannot describe how utterly disgusting it is to see a roach while having dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borago also viewed

Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Borago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing