We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Dogs Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Schnapper's Hots

Schnapper's Hots
Ranked #2 of 7 Dessert in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Voted Sanibel Island's Best Take Out! Burgers.Dogs.Wings.Ice Cream.Fries.OnionRings
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Dogs Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is our first stop when we get to Sanibel, after a day of travel. The menu includes grilled hot dogs, sausages, burgers, pizza and the best fries I've ever had and I don't even like fries. There are a couple tables outside or you can stand up inside and read the reviews on the wall. This is no frills but the people are frienly and the food is great, if you go knowing you are not here for your health. Dig in and enjoy every bite because you may never find a better hotdog, sausage or bratwurst in the world.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank melrumphius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    207
    82
    35
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charles Town, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Way over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I ate at Schnappers on 11/02/2012. I had a foot loog chili dog and an order of onion rings and my wife had a bratwurst with musturd only (no saurkrauit etc.) . The total bill was 23 dollars. Across the street is a 7-11. Smoked dogs with chili there are $2.99 for two. I tried Schnappers because I love chili dogs and while it certainly wasn't bad I found the chilidog a bit bland and the onion rings lacked any seasoning. I believe the price demands a different level of food. I will be going across the street to 7-11 in the future.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville,Illinois
Level Contributor
222 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Best hot dogs outside of NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This is a hot dog heaven; fries are great too, can't speak for the other items but the dogs are GREAT!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“authentic Buffalo NY dogs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

These are quality deli sausages and dogs like we get in New York state, Buffalo in particular where the restaurant owners are from. Worth trying.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldsanibellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very popular, but not 100% sure why”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

When we got there, the parking lot was packed. But the food is okay, the service is slow. By the time we got our food, we were the only ones left in there. The food was good, but not incredible.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chuck P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schnapper's Hots also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Schnapper's Hots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing