We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable and convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandpiper Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandpiper Inn
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was searching the internet and calling around for prices and locations and Sandpiper Inn turned out to be a very sweet, very small, kind of a 1950's charming island inn. It was very quiet and private, and had everything we needed for a reasonably priced trip to the island. Complete kitchen, with full-size refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, dishes, silverware, so we were able to go to the grocery and eat most of our meals and snacks in our room, if you like that sort of thing! Free cable and wifi, and we also used the beach chairs, beach towels, and umbrella. Sandpiper is walking distance to the beach, although most of the time we drove to other beaches. We did not use the washer, dryer, or bicycles, but they are all included, too. There is no maid service, nor room service but this is not the Waldorf-Astoria! It's a beach/island vacation~

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SparkySparks2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    20
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great little efficiency apartments, very clean. Lovely front porch area (had cocktails with the neighbors) and backyard area with hammock. Loved the outdoor sink for rinsing shells and suits. PERFECT location for a short bike ride to the beach or town, bikes provided by the Inn! I will definitely go back again, great place for a family reunion or group looking for their own rooms. High season traffic can be rough, bikes are the only way to get around Periwinkle. We drove the Inn-provided chairs and umbrella down to the private south beach (no restroom or lifeguard) and then returned on bike, it's that close!

Room Tip: Upstairs you have the sitting porch, downstairs you would go to the yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiobhanSt_Petersburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I can only echo other positive reviews. Clean and comfortable. The kitchen had all we needed for simple cooking. Free cruiser bikes were a great amenity. Free use of washer/dryer came in handy. Short walk to the south side beach (shelling at low tide).

Room Tip: Unit #4 is upstairs on the end away from the road and the stairs, so very quiet. Also more breezy on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xcski37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

March 2013, stayed in Unit 1, a large, airy, fairly bright and nicely decorated unit (main room is 14 x 20 ft or so) with a great kitchen (gas stove, full fridge), comfy couch, nice TV, eating area near window. Bedroom is rather small, as is bathroom, but are fine. Nice place to sit out back. Manager Laurie very helpful. Also a BBQ, although we couldn't spot any BBQ utensils, so stuck to stove. Bikes and helmets in good condition available to borrow at no extra charge. Door lock is flimsy and needs upgrading, but otherwise, would heartily recommend. Short walk to long shell-laden beach, lots of seabirds, a bit busy at times but room to spread out. Also walking distance to a couple of restaurants and longer walk or biking distance to more shopping and large supermarket. Lots of small lizards or geckos on grounds, fun to watch.

Room Tip: Ground-floor units are probably larger, but check with owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElsieMac55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bidart, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Sandpiper Inn. Mu unit was very clean and cozy. The inn is calm and a nice place to take it easy. I enjoyed relaxing in the garden while my veggies cooked on the barbecue available to their clients. Free use of bikes was a plus. It's a great area for biking. Thanks for a nice vacation!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank daniele b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Sandpiper for the last two years and love it. Two blocks to the beach and shopping is close. The rooms are clean, yard is kept up nicely. Manager / Laurie is great !

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Ronald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
230 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

The inn is located in a quiet area and a 5 mns walk to the beautiful beach! Stayed for two nights during low season in July. The room, no 1, was clean and an almost fully equipped kitchen, the bedroom was small with no A/C. The small outdoor sitting area at the back of the house was awfull, a full ash tray and the furnitures were broken, in the hotel garden is a hammock and some chairs. Parking at the property wich is great! The inn keepers was great and helpfull with tips for restaurants etc. According to the standard it is a bit pricey, but that is Sanibel island in general. Bicycles to borrow for free at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magnus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
941cjy, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are so happy you enjoyed the accommodations at the Sandpiper for the most part. It is a value Inn completely equipped for a beach vacation.
I am sorry you did not enjoy the outside area, we do try to make it as enjoyable as possible.
We allow guests to smoke only outside, so it is possible someone had been smoking during your stay outside. I have spoken to our manager regarding this.
We are also in the process of replacing our outside furniture, as some had been damaged during a recent storm.

Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages
#3 of 5 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
3.6 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
3.2 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Inn

Property: Sandpiper Inn
Address: 720 Donax St, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sanibel Island
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing