We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly have to repeat visit condo 2D4!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean's Reach Condominiums

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean's Reach Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Madison WI
Level Contributor
108 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Heavenly have to repeat visit condo 2D4!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2009

Having spent a lot of time in rental condos and vacation homes on our travels we were somewhat skeptical of the self proclaimed bravado of Oceans Reach but boy were we ever delighted when we made that turn down the drive and into the parking courtyard and got a peek at the shining gulf coast waters through the walkways between the buildings. We stayed in condo 2D4 which was decorated in a bright, whimsical tropical style. Everything worked perfectly and the beds were very comfy. We absolutely loved the close proximity to the beach which afforded us twice daily long beach combing walks and daily floats and swims in the uber warm ocean waters. If we didn't feel like a swim in the ocean, the pool was crystal clear and inviting. Other residents were friendly and talkative and obviously enjoying the blissful location also. The landscaping was pretty and inviting and the condo views were dreamy in a beachy sort of way. Once we realized that behind our storage space was a room full of goodies we totally took advantage of them. We found noodles and wake boards and inflatable water chairs and water toys along with beach chairs. The only thing missing were the beach towels which we purchased at Walmart. We are returning again this fall, as we can't wait for our next visit to Oceans Reach and we recommend it to all of our friends also.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shelley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    59
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
255
209
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

Great family units sitting right on the beach front allowing easy access to a fantastic beach for swimming, fishing, shell collecting and beach combing or less active pursuits. don't fancy the beach, try the ocean side pool. Our unit was recently renovated and in great condition being well equiped to allow self contained living. Location is a short drive or bike to the many restaurant and shopping places on the island. Bike paths for the cyclists go past the units. A nice outside grill and dining area is present for lazy at home meals and family cookouts. Great place for a family beach holiday. We had a really enjoyable stay and would happily return. Excellent value holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rschambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

For the better part of our married life, my husband and I have vacationed on Sanibel Island, and although we have stayed at different places, we've always returned to ocean's Reach. We've treasured this idyllic spot at each phase of our life together. As newlyweds we walked the glistening gulf beach each morning and planned our future together; we spent lazy afternoons just taking in the sun or swimming in the beautiful pool where we formed friendships with other happy vacationers.

When our daughter was eighteen months, she experienced her first of many trips to Ocean's Reach and joined the beachgoers, pail and shovel in hand, spending hours in her "kingdom by the sea." Our little family's happiest memories include days at this resort , shelling, biking swimming or simply doing nothing but rejuvinating our bodies and minds in the most beautiful place in Florida.

Our family isn't so little anymore. Now when we come, we bring along our son-in-law and three little granddaughters. Our visits have taken on new dimensions. This November we spent a fun-filled week together, watching as our four-year-old jumped into the deep end of the very same pool our daughter learned to swim in and proudly dogpaddled its entire length for the very first time. Evenings we barbequed in "Andy's Grove" while the children darted about, enchanted by the holiday lights that gave the setting the look and feel of a magical fairyland.

Our unit was on the ground floor which allowed access to a grassy yard leading directly to an unobstructed view of the gulf. We spent late afternoons on the lanai admiring the spectacular view in front of us. Its interior was modern, comfortable, perfectly equipped and child friendly so everyone felt at home.

We don't plan to take future vacations anywhere but Sanibel Island. Whatever inspiring sunrises we wake to or whatever magnificent sunsets we witness, these special times will always take place on the beach of Ocean's Reach.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansreach, owner at Ocean's Reach Condominiums, responded to this review, November 24, 2009
Thank you very much for sharing your family memories from your many years of "sun and sand" beach vacations at Ocean's Reach.
I'm very pleased to hear that Ocean's Reach has remained your vacation destination of choice for your family and the generations to come.
Dru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2009

When our family sought a Sanibel vacation spot that was close to the best island attractions, but secluded enough to feel a world away from the bustle of daily life, Ocean’s Reach was the natural choice. From expansive Gulf of Mexico views from our unit, to easy beach access for sunrise seashell strolls, to long-lasting memories of BBQs at The Grove, Ocean’s Reach wasn’t just a place to stay while we experienced the island – it defined our island experience. We would highly recommend Ocean’s Reach as the destination of choice for any Sanibel vacation!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MASS2NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansreach, owner at Ocean's Reach Condominiums, responded to this review, November 24, 2009
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful vacation review of Ocean's Reach.
We are delighted that your stay was the perfect get -away from it all!
Your feedback means alot to us. We look forward to earning your return visit!
Dru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

Ocean's Reach on Sanibel Island was one of the most beautiful places we've ever stayed. It was like being on our own private, very tropical, island. And yet, everything we needed was within biking distance, including restaurants like the Island Cow where they serve great food at a very reasonable price! The bike paths are flat and nicely paved, making them a comfortable ride to almost any place on the island. And, the shady tunnels of trees, green foliage, colorful flowers, exotic birds, and other wild life make the ride beautiful as well. Our room had a wonderful view of the gulf. It was just as beautiful as the pictures, very comfortable, quiet, and well furnished. We loved every minute!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovethebeach47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

Just returned from a week at Sanibel Island. The weather was beautiful. We rented a condo Ocean's Reach. The price was actually in range with the Holiday Inn. Three adult girlfriends for a week of sand, surf and relaxation.
The weather was perfect. upper 70's-90 the whole week. We were right on the ocean with a lovely view. We were placed on the 2nd floor. The elevator was old but reliable and it was do it yourself racks to get your things in. No bellboys or staff waiting to assist for tips. We rolled our things in. The condo was perfect. Full size kitchen with everything you needed to cook with. We saved some money by cooking almost all of our meals. You can stop on the way over at Super Walmart but we mostly shopped at the local groceries Jerry's or Bailey's. They carried most of what we needed with not a huge mark up. Produce and dairy might have been a little pricier.
The condo also had a washer and dryer, so you can bring fewer clothes. A large king size comfy bed and a fold out couch. Microwave, dishwasher all the conveniences as they do not clean while you are there.
Captiva Cruises entertained us with Shell cruises and Dolphin cruises. There are also kayaks to rent at same location. If you watch the Island Sun paper (free on island) they were running coupns buy one get one free on the Captiva cruises. It was a beautiful place to relax, lay in the sun watch sun rise and set and do a whole lot of nothing.
Saw manatees, Dolphins, alligators and sun. Collected more shells than I need. Watch out for the No See Um's they are little bugs that come out at sun up and down and they bite. They appear to be immune to bug spray but locals say SKin SO SOft or something with eucalyptus helps. Watch the tide at the lighthouse it is deceptively strong. Enjoy your trip!

Helpful?
3 Thank smilinggypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

We prefer to rent a condo/home rather than stay in a hotel as you have more privacy and freedom. You can cook if you want, you have your own private patio, there aren't hundreds and hundreds of other guests...I could go on.

We chose the Ocean's Reach complex after weeks of studying other properties. The staff at OR was kind, helpful, responsive, and honest. I felt more secure renting from a property with a small but professional on site staff then renting from a private owner.

OR is directly on the beach. It is quite literally only a few moments walk from anywhere in the complex to the beach or pool. All of the units have screened lanais and face the ocean.

OR is very easy to find and in a clean safe area. (Although I think all of Sanibel is clean and safe)

There is a grocery store very close to OR (Jerry's). Also movie rentals, liqour store, many restaurants, a doctor, pharmacy, and many outdoor activities.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovecoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
1.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean's Reach Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean's Reach Condominiums

Property: Ocean's Reach Condominiums
Address: 2230 Camino Del Mar Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean's Reach Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Oceanfront 1 & 2 bed Condos. Enjoy the amenities of home at the beach. Every building is only 19 steps to the beach. All units have a bath for each bedroom. Amenities: Free wireless, Tennis, Basketball, Pool, Shuffleboard, DVD, Elevators, Washer/Dryer, Large Shell Cleaning Station, Gulf-side Pool, Outdoor dining and grill area, on-site Guest Services, Fully equipped units. Units all look out to the beautiful gulf beach. Bike rental is on site. Total remodeling complete in 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ocean's Reach Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean`s Reach Condominiums Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing