We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Clean Condos With Broken Dishwasher & Dining Room Chair”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean's Reach Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very Clean Condos With Broken Dishwasher & Dining Room Chair”
Reviewed August 6, 2009

This was our second year at Ocean's Reach. Our first year (2008) was absolutely perfect! This year we stayed in a different condo. The condo was extremely clean just like last year's which we like. It is very close to the beach and the grounds are very pretty. Every morning we would open our curtains to a wonderful view of the ocean. All of their condos are ocean front. They have a nice pool area too & an awesome area for grilling out. This year after washing a load of dishes I noticed they weren't coming clean. My husband checked it out and the dishwasher's spray arm was broken off and had attached to the heating element. At this point we realized we couldn't use it because it could start a fire. There also was a TON of broken glass in the bottom of the dishwasher. We arrived on Friday and received a brand new dishwasher the night before we were supposed to leave (Thursday) except there was a note with it that said "DO NOT USE" because it wasn't attached to the wall yet. Doing dishes is NOT what I wanted to do on vacation! Upon arrival we also discovered 1 of the dining room chairs was broken. A repairman said he would bring it back that day but it never was returned to us during our stay--no replacement chair--NOTHING!! We have a family of 4 so 1 of us would have to sit at the counter and 3 of us at the table for meals. We were lucky we reserved a condo with bar stools at the counter (some don't have them) otherwise we would have to either eat in shifts or put a couple of people on the lanai to eat & a couple of people indoors. I love to cook and I like my family to sit down together to eat so this was a big inconvenience & very disappointing. We were vacationing on a budget so dining out was not an option. We only dined out for 1 meal. Last year in 2008 the evenings on the lanai were very quiet & peaceful. This year there was a large group of people traveling together staying in condos next to us and above & below us. In the evenings they would all gather in the condo & lanai above us and it would be very noisy. I would guess they were packing 10 to 15 people in a one bedroom condo! Sitting on the lanai this year at night was very noisy listening to them. They would be at the beach all day drinking under a couple of Easy-Ups and in the ocean and then continue the party on through the night. We drink ourselves but not to the extent that these people did. My hubby left a pair of Croc Sandals outside of our door one night and the next morning (his birthday) they were gone! What a birthday present! It says on the brochure not to leave anything outside but his shoes were wet and we like to keep the condo clean. I loved the cleanliness of the condos the best and the broken dishwasher, broken dining room chair, stolen shoes & drunks above us the least.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NovemberBride27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    59
    8
    6
    0
See reviews for
256
210
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2009

As first-time guests at this location we hoped for the best... and got it! From the picturesque view of the Gulf of Mexico to the seashell smothered beach, it was perfect. When we were in the unit, it was heaven away from home. When we were on the beach, if we weren't collecting beautiful seashells we were floating lazily in the warm gulf water. And when it was time to be adventurous, there was a plethora of activities on the island from which to choose. We chose a Tarpon Bay Explorers guided fishing charter, a Kayak outing, the Sanibel Thriller tour and another self-guided fishing outing in Tarpon Bay. Each day had a different activity and when not out-n-about on the island, we were on the beach at Ocean’s Reach.

Our unit was clean, decorated nicely and had a spectacular view. We had everything we needed. The staff in the office was friendly, gave great advice/tips for things to do and places to go. We checked in and out in moments, not minutes. We had wireless Internet in our unit and even by the pool. The covered parking kept our car cool no matter how hot the sun made it outside. When we had too much sun, the room was always waiting... cool and comfortable.

With two markets only minutes away, we ate-in most times while staring out into the gulf, watching boats pass offshore, and discussing what time we would head down onto the beach. For beachcombers like us, Ocean’s Reach is perfect! A beautiful un-crowded beach with seashells galore, a great view of the sunrise and abound with wildlife. While my wife searched and stooped for shells, I snapped photos of the sunrise, clouds, the gulf, fish, fishermen, birds, etc. Sunrise or Sunset, the beach was tranquil and romantic as the ever-present waves fell upon the shore. After dusk, we would sit together on the lanai and allow the waves to lull us to sleep. It was another perfect ending to a wonderful day at a marvelous place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanibelSeashellLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

I spent a couple of night's at Ocean's Reach on Sanibel last week. It was just terrific. The place combines all the expected amenities - glorious beach, well-appointed condominiums, beautifully landscaped grounds, a nice pool, with a genuine sense of serenity and invitation to really relax and enjoy. One feels quite close to nature at Ocean's Reach, from the sound of waves on the beach to the calls of Ospreys nesting nearby. There are good restaurants nearby, and the "Ding" Darling National WIldlife Refuge - with its world-renowned wildlife viewing opportunities - is near, and the staff coudn't be more accomodating. I know that there are a number of great places to stay on Sanibel, but Ocean's Reach really stands out. I certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owenboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Ocean's Reach on Sanibel Island is awesome. It is a beautiful property, our condo was extremely clean, well equipped and just perfect for our family. The grounds are well kept and the location is perfect. We will be back every year.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyVacKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2009

We stayed in a one-bedroom condo May 23-31st and had one of the best beach vacations ever! The complex is truly on the beach, only 20 steps to the water. It is also about 1 mile to either of the two grocery stores on the island and a couple of miles to Ding Darling Reserve. The accessibility to everything was a key for us. The gulf-front units have an awesome view through palm trees of the water. The beach itself is in an uncrowded, peaceful setting with houses on the west side and a public beach park on the east side. As others have reported, the grounds are beautifully maintained and the furniture was comfortable. Although the condo was somewhat small, the location far out-weighed the square footage. You can view individual interiors by going to www.oceansreach.com. The pictures on the web-site are what you get!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAScooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Oceansreach was the best choice for us. Everything was perfect, location, the condo itself, the beach just steps away, the grounds, the view, the weather, and of course the staff, John was sweet while arranging our trip before we got there and Dru was very helpful durning our stay.
We felt like we were in the Carribian. We will definately be back.
John and Barbara Brett

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babs211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2009

We spent the last week of April at Ocean's Reach and were extremely happy with our accomodations. It was amazing to wake up each morning and look out at palm trees and the ocean.

THE ROOM: The condo furnishings were OK (we stayed in unit 3A1) and the kitchen was stocked with most of the things you'd need to get by. It could probably have used a little updating but overall was nice and spaceous. Free wireless internet was a major plus! No major complaints.

THE BEACH: Amazing! Wide beaches that weren't overcrowded. It was a bit windy during the week we were there but the temperature was beautiful.

SHELLING: Seashells everywhere, as you would expect in Sanibel. Our best find was at the tip of the island, just before you cross over into Captiva, they are doing some sort of construction and dredging the sand. If you follow the pipe along the beach to where the water and sand is being pumped out, shells are literally spewing out. It's a short walk (maybe half a mile) from the public parking which is on your left right before you go over the small bridge.

FISHING: I fished almost every day in the surf (had better luck there than on the pier) and caught spotted sea trout, black drum, gulf catfish, gulf kingfish, little jacks, and a few mackerel. Free floated live shrimp with no weights. Instead of renting a rod, I just stopped into Walmart on the way to the condo from the airport and picked up a cheap rod and reel set for $20. While I'd never use this back home, it definitely did the job for the week I was on vacation instead of paying the $12/day they charge you. The family went out on a chartered trip using Tarpon Bay Explorers and had a great time. They took us out on a pontoon boat and everyone caught some spotted sea trout. Because it was on the bay, the water was calm so no one got sea sick. Highly recommended for a family (the boat says it can handle six people fishing, but we were somewhat tight with 5 of adults on the pontoon boat), although probably not for a serious fisherman looking for bigger catches.

OVERALL: A great experience that I would do again in a heartbeat. There's almost no nightlife, but we didn't really miss it at all. Sanibel was so peaceful and relaxing none of us wanted to come home.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonx75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
2.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#12 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
2.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean's Reach Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean's Reach Condominiums

Property: Ocean's Reach Condominiums
Address: 2230 Camino Del Mar Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean's Reach Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Oceanfront 1 & 2 bed Condos. Enjoy the amenities of home at the beach. Every building is only 19 steps to the beach. All units have a bath for each bedroom. Amenities: Free wireless, Tennis, Basketball, Pool, Shuffleboard, DVD, Elevators, Washer/Dryer, Large Shell Cleaning Station, Gulf-side Pool, Outdoor dining and grill area, on-site Guest Services, Fully equipped units. Units all look out to the beautiful gulf beach. Bike rental is on site. Total remodeling complete in 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean's Reach Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean`s Reach Condominiums Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing