We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so hot”

Sweet Melissa's Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Sweet Melissa's Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Casa Ybel
Sanibel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not so hot”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Had dinner here a few nights ago and I was really looking forward to the fish stew. But I was sorely disappointed - not at all as yummy as I remember. My dining partners ordered what looked promising from the menu descriptions but most tasted no better than ho-hum. From now on, we will be eating at Cips Restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HarryCat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    794
    217
    107
    40
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
318 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Great birthday lunch”
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

We really loved this place. Super friendly waitress, casual outdoor seating in a screen room, well prepared food with great presenttion and desserts to die for. A limited menu but some unusual choices. I had curried shrimp with apple and honeydew melon while my wife chose grilled shrimp with heart of plams, orange and avacado croutons. We finished with homemade dessert. I loved the Chinese 5 spice ice cream.

This cafe met our expectations and we will return.

Helpful?
Thank Hobomonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sophisticarecd”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We expected "cafe" food,& setting, but got stylish dining & thoughtfully presented delicious food. Not cheap, but good value

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KateCTunbridgeWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“One of Sanibel's very best”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have become fairly regular visitors to Captiva/Sanibel, and have tried almost all of the island restaurants. One our most recent visit we finally got around to trying Sweet Melissa's, having heard good things about it. We found SM's to be a really nicely designed and comfortable space, and we enjoyed dining on the patio. The food was innovative and the service was excellent both times we visited. Melissa knows how to coax wonderful flavours out of her ingredients. Everything is subtle but oh so flavourful. We find some "high end" chefs try too hard to be original, and end up creating meals that are overdone or the ingredients don't work in harmony. Not Melissa! The Tamarind short ribs are rapturous. We were so pleased we returned 2 days later to try more menu items, and we similarly impressed with both mains and appi's. We were also pleasantly surprised at the wine options for reasonable prices. Clearly someone has taken great care in selecting wines that taste beyond their price point! Sweet Melissa's definitely ranks in the top 2 restaurants on the islands - a tie with the Mad Hatter. Be sure to reserve ahead - it's hard to get a table most nights!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wanted to love it”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Wanted to love this cute little place but unfortunately just ended up liking it okay. I think if your used to big city high end cuisine you'll be terribly disappointed, however if you remember you are on a tiny little island where most other places offer 20,000 ways to deep fry everything and your grandmother, its a huge bump up towards haute cuisine from that. Staff were wonderfully pleasant but seemed uneducated on fine cuisine and wines, from the bar to the hostess to the waitress. We had a few hilarious issues with bad wine for instance. However again that is completely understandable in my book with the whole 'seasonal' aspect of working on an island and i would much rather have uneducated pleasant staff that educated rude ones, any time. Am i glad i went?- Yes. Will i visit again?- no. Do i suggest giving it a shot? - Absolutely.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelgrl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Melissa's Cafe also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sweet Melissa's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing