We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sweet Melissa's Cafe

Sweet Melissa's Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Sweet Melissa's Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Casa Ybel
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrific again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

On our annual stay on Sanibel Island, we had to eat at Sweet Melissa's and as usual we were delighted by the food and the service. Certainly not your typical beach vacation eatery, Sweet Melissa's is sophisticated dining. The food is excellent and creative. And we love the ability to order "petite" portions so that dessert can be ordered without too much guilt. I can't recommend this place more highly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidSilverSpring_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    769
    211
    103
    38
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We recently had dinner at Sweet Melissa's while vacationing on Sanibel Island. It was early October, so the restaurant(and Sanibel) were quiet. We were seated in a small side room with about 5 tables, all close together. That was the first problem. Seated directly behind us was a loud, boorish man and his "date". Shortly after that a second couple was seated in the same small room, despite most of the restaurant being empty. The second man was obviously a wine snob and was unhappy with the shape of the glass his wine was served in and proceeded to lecture the waitress(and unhappily, us as well) on why it was not suitable.
Now on to the food. It was restaurant week so they had a select menu of a salad, fish stew and desert. The salad featured hearts of palm and hazelnuts and was delicious. The fish stew was loaded with clams, mussels, fish and a single scallop in a tomato broth. The flavor was good, but it was oversalted. The desert was banana wrapped in phyllo dough and served with cinnamon gelato - this was excellent. Overall I would rate the food as 4/5. Ambience was 2/5. And while I understand the restaurant isn't responsible for other diners behavior, to seat 3 parties in a small room when the majority of the restaurant was empty really spoiled what should have been an enjoyable meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tw21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Ate lunch at Sweet Melissa's yesterday. The food is remarkable. We had been shelling on the beach all day and were starving. Happened upon the sign thinking it was just a little cafe. Boy were we wrong, it is a fancy little restaurant. We were welcomed in even though we were very casually dressed and made to feel at ease. My husband and I each had the green salad. The grilled apple slices added so much flavor. Our waiter Paul was outstanding. Can't wait to go back for dinner the next time we are in Sanibel.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beware The Bar!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I have no complaints with the food, very good as usual. However, I want to share our drink experience. We ordered two golden margaritas.....the bartender was unsure how that was prepared...we said a regular margarita with Grand Marnier. A very common drink on the island. You can imagine our surprise when we received our bill, two margaritas $18.00, two Grand Marnier $24.00. Is that crazy or what? We did question the cost and they did make a $12.00 adjustment. In the future you might alert your customer to the ridiculous charge. My biggest regret is we tipped the bartender the expected 20 percent. The tip should have been study the drink manual. My advice,visit Trader's, great food and great golden margaritas without the $$$$$$$. Our last visit.....Barb R
L

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smc1625, Manager at Sweet Melissa's Cafe, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Please accept our apologies for a bad experience. I wanted to let you know that we greatly appreciate your posting this review, as it alerted us to a problem with our point of sale system that we were unaware of. The problem has been corrected and drinks adding Gran Marnier are now ringing up at the correct prices. I hope you'll accept our invitation to return, and give us the opportunity to make this right for you. Again, our apologies.
Karen A. Schaeffer
Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

You must try the goat cheese crepes and the grilled romaine salad. Our server Paul, was very knowledgeable and recommended some great wine pairings for our table. Great portion sizes to share.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sherri t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Melissa's Cafe also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sweet Melissa's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing