We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food on our Trip”

Sweet Melissa's Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Sweet Melissa's Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Casa Ybel
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Food on our Trip”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had an amazing dinner here. I highly recommend it. Squid ink seafood pasta, the salad with tempura avocado, the fish stew and the quail were out of this world. You have to leave room for dessert, too! The bananas in puff pastry with caramel were amazing!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    799
    217
    107
    40
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for foodies”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were really impressed with the quality of the food. The menu is limited for good reason -- everything is fresh and perfectly prepared. The tuna tartare, duck leg confit, and smoked tenderloin with bone marrow bordelaise were amazing. Get several small plates and share!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Corie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb food and service”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The menu offers a wide range of items and everything that we tried was excellent. Portions are large so it is easy to share an appetizer between two. Full size entree portions are huge, so unless you plan/want to take home a doggie bag to enjoy it again the next day, consider ordering just the half portion.

Service was perfect - no hovering and no trying to up sell. The A/C was blasting a little too much at our table, and our waiter turned the fan down without any fuss. We were in shorts and he was in long sleeves and long pants and probably needed the A/C to keep him cool - but he was very accommodating of our request.

Everything that we had was excellent quality - grilled romaine salad is a wonderful variation and large enough for two. Be sure to save room for the desserts. This is probably the best dining experience that you'll have on the island. It was for us.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dadioman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamie r, Manager at Sweet Melissa's Cafe, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
We are very glad to have given you a wonderful visit! We always try to accomodate our guests, so its no wonder your dining experience wasnt an exception. We truly appreciate you putting out a good word!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“YES!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Three nights in a row! Why not? Every meal was noteworthy. For example, mussels starter was generous, but also exceptional. Broth was amazing. Asparagus wrapped with prosciutto, accented with spiced pecans, drizzled artfully with molasses sauce and topped with perfect soft-boiled egg flash fried with bread crumbs - just fabulous, not to mention, beautiful. Entrees come in "petite" size servings which were very generous and very well priced. The red snapper with fingerling potatoes, bacon, mushrooms - OMG - and the fish stew with clams, mussels, white fish, shrimp in tomato broth - absolutely special. Ambience was upscale, but jazzy and comfortable. Service was friendly and very competent. Just reallly loved this place!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ksbeachlover54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!!!!!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Ask for Paul, he is awesome. The food is incredible! Try the mussels, yellowtail! And the fish stew....to die for!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beckyisaacs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Melissa's Cafe also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sweet Melissa's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing