We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice meal, in a nice atmosphere ..... Dependable as per regulars there”

Traders Gulf Coast Grill and Gifts
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: At Traders Gulf Coast Grill and Gifts, we want to make you feel right at home! Our location has been regarded as one of Sanibel's best kept secrets! Indulge yourself with one of our fantastic meals, or browse around for a great gift for a loved one. We are proud to offer a variety of food, gifts and entertainment to the Sanibel area. We provide live entertainment every Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday. Some of our best dishes include succulent seafood and steaks! After your meal, relax with some great cocktails, fine wine, or a delicious dessert! We'll be ready to greet you with a smiling face! Visit Traders Gulf Coast Grill and Gifts today!
Florida
Level Contributor
627 reviews
425 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“A nice meal, in a nice atmosphere ..... Dependable as per regulars there”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Like many others found ourselves watching the sun setting over the beach without thinking of dinner. (Yes a wonderful beach, shells & worth the fee to get on the island).
Thanks to Trip Advisor read several reviews that were posted. Went to Traders (w/o a reservation as I said). Had to wait 20 minutes so we took in the bar area (&restrooms which were clean etc). Behind the bar area there is a large gift type area from shells, apparel, sculptures, to forgotten necessities). So be aware that the bar area is not atmospheric as you may want.
The hostesses are great, patrons too ( if you talk to strangers). Waitress attentive from drinks, meal itself to desert. Had appertizers of grilled mushrooms (excellent), tomato & mozzarella, crab cakes. Main courses of grouper w/ink ravioli, ravioli stuffed w/crab & chicken francee. All presented well, excellent quality etc. Their desert special of chocolate bread pudding (++ice cream) can be shared!!
Be aware that it's valet parking. Eatery is on main road near causeway.
Glad forvTrAd and this resturant !

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Track1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,018
    403
    120
    42
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A very good, relaxed restaurant”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is not the Mad Hatter in quality or character, but still a very good restaurant. It is much larger, much more casual and relaxed, except for the wait staff who move rapidly around the very large restaurant. My blackened scallops over a pasta was very good: five or six quite large scallops, complemented by the sauce of the pasta which included artichoke and tomato. My wife's pompony (spelling?) fish was quite nicely done, also over a pasta. It's much better than El Cielo, the newer restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 51862Dvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
159 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Hip atmosphere out on the island”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stopped here after a sunset stroll on Sanibel beach, didn't have a reservation but they had some open seats at the kitchen counter, which turned out to be fun watching everyone prepare our meals. We had excellent seafood entrees and generally thought the food was above average but not inspired. Our server was pleasant but had too many tables so things moved slowly. They have a nice gift shop attached. The atmosphere overall is island upscale.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Traders: Dependably excellent!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We dined at Traders once again with friends from out of town this week, and once again, the food was terrific, service was impeccable, and ambiance was delightful. The Chilean sea bass was everything that I promised my friends it would be. My husband and I, like most Sanibel locals, consider Traders to be the very best restaurant on the island -- no doubt about it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank b2cool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

High quality food--to perfection. Excellent servers. Very comfortable and pleasant ambiance. We enjoyed several meals at Traders, and all were wonderful. Delightful store, as well.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Naturalist8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Traders Gulf Coast Grill and Gifts also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Traders Gulf Coast Grill and Gifts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing