We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our second stay here-just love this place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Dolphin Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Our second stay here-just love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Wonderful location, quiet and far away from busy condos and motels. The continental breakfast served each morning is lovely . Very clean cottages and very pleasant guests who return each year. Thank you Beth and Helma for being so helpful. Looking forward to our stay next year!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Beth and Helma thank you for visiting us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    40
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
50
139
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Casselberry, Florida
Level Contributor
306 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

My husband and I spent another wonderful 5 days at the Blue Dolphin before Thanksgiving and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. Poinsettias on the walkway tables were a festive holiday decoration. We had a beautiful view of the Gulf from our porch where we ate breakfast every day, watching dolphins in the surf and magnificent frigate birds soaring in the sky every day. Shelling wasn't as good for me this year as it's been in the past; we tried our beach as well as the Lighthouse Beach and Blind Pass Beach. I didn't find many as shells washed up on the beach as usual, but did find some nice ones by wading in the surf and using a net. The weather was beautiful. The no-see-um midges were a nuisance, but somewhat lessened by various sprays; Beth even told me about an alternative medicine pill that might lessen your body's attractiveness to these nasty critters. Our room was very comfortable and breakfast with delicious fresh fruit along with the usual muffins and bagels was good (except for the couple who brought travel mugs and drained the coffee pot each morning!). We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed our amenities. Beth is trying to find some magic potion to ward off the no seeums, another product is greenway formula 7 with clove oil, we now have Beth smelling like an Easter Ham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Loved everything about this place! Beautiful, peaceful, setting on a stunning beach. The rooms were clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. The breakfast was really cute and we were able to enjoy it sat outside on our patio. Staff very friendly and helpful. And yes, you really can see dolphins (we saw them every day at sunrise and sunset) ! Just remember your insect repellent for the 'midges'. We will definitely return and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lr2012_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Your stay sounded wonderful. We are glad we could accomodate you and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myerstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
290 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

The location can't be beat if you like an uncrowded beach! West Gulf Drive is largely residential. There are a few parking areas for residents to use to access the beach (special permit needed). But no public parking in this area. We found a starfish, pen shells, whelks, fighting conchs, etc, etc (sadly, no junonia)! We did visit Bowman's Beach, however, we found a better selection of shells right near the Cottages. The warm water outside shower and table by the back door was the perfect place to rinse shells and sandy shoes. My son and I rode the complimentary bikes to Over Easy Café for breakfast one morning. The sleep quality got 4 stars only because of the pillows. The room was clean and fresh towels were available in the laundry. The internet was fast. Both of us watched movies without any problems.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mosslady53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Please remember if there is a problem please feel free to let the management know because things can be rectified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed for four nights and it wasn't long enough. The cottage was wonderful, had everything we needed, fresh towels were always available. The beach was beautiful. It was in a residential area so not crowded. We visited the public beach and it was nothing compared to the beach at the cottage. Beth and the other guests were so friendly. Couldn't have been better. Our next visit to Florida probably won't be for two years but this will be a definite come back but hopefully longer.

Room Tip: Shelling is best below the low tide line. All cottages are near/on the water and with only ten you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyJane48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
We hope to see you again. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

A birthday surprise for me, and it couldn't have been nicer. The perfect place for a quiet, peaceful getaway. Clean and spacious cottage unit with king size bed and kitchenette. Literally just steps from a clean, almost private part of the beach that extends for miles. Manager Beth and owner Jerry were most welcoming and helpful. Hope we can come back some day!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank auntmamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Loved everything about The Blue Dolphin! I just couldn't get good reception for my cell ph! Very clean, always plenty of fresh towels! If you need for anything..Beth is always there for you! Loved the quaintness of the whole area!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LStMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We are glad to know you had a great time. We hope to see you again. Cell phone strength is known to be a problem on Sanibel. Sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
4.6 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,152 reviews
6.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
2.1 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
#14 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphin Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Cottages

Property: Blue Dolphin Cottages
Address: 4227 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5199
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly refreshing vacation awaits you at the Blue Dolphin Cottages. We are a family owned, intimate and charming motel situated directly on a tranquil, white sandy beach on the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. The Blue Dolphin Cottages offers a selection of accommodations in its 10 units, either bright and airy efficiencies or spacious one bedroom suites, all with completely equipped kitchens, phones and cable television. Each unit has a comfortable sun deck surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. With our compliments, you will enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Blue Dolphin Sanibel Island
Blue Dolphin Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing